YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

8 Californians Win Science Medals : Reagan Gives 19 Awards, Praises Contribution to Nation

February 28, 1985|United Press International

WASHINGTON — President Reagan presented National Medals of Science to 19 winners, including eight Californians, on Wednesday, telling them that they have made "an outstanding contribution to our way of life and our future." At an East Room ceremony, Reagan said, "There's no nation on Earth that can match our scientific capability, our standard of living and our national security. The medals went to:

-Howard L. Bachrach, retired from the Agriculture Department at Plum Island, N.Y., for pioneering research in molecular virology. -Paul Berg of Stanford University for added understanding of the mechanisms of gene expression.

-Wendell L. Roelofs of Cornell University for his fundamental contribution to basic and applied biology in the field of insects.

-Berta Scharrer, emeritus professor at Albert Einstein College, for pioneering contributions in establishing the concept of neurosecretion.

-Roald Hoffmann of Cornell University for his creative applications of theory to organic and inorganic chemistry.

-George C. Pimentel of the University of California, Berkeley, for his varied and ingenious use of infrared spectroscopy in the study of chemical bonding and molecular dynamics.

-Richard N. Zare of Stanford University for his seminal contributions to molecular spectroscopy, photochemistry and chemical reaction dynamics.

-William R. Hewlett, vice chairman of Hewlett-Packard Co., for pioneering accomplishments in the creation and manufacturing of electronic instruments.

-George M. Low, the late president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, for contributions of major dimensions and lasting importance to manned space flight.

-The late John G. Trump of Massachusetts Institute of Technology for his introduction of new machines and methods for widespread beneficial application of ionizing radiation to medicine.

-Herman H. Goldstine, executive officer of the American Philosophical Society in Philadelphia, for his fundamental contributions to development of the digital computer, computer programming and numerical analysis.

-I. M. Singer of MIT for his inspired revival of differential geometry and its connection to analysis.

-E. Margaret Burbidge of the University of California, San Diego, for leadership in observational astronomy.

-Maurice Goldhaber of the Brookhaven National Laboratory for his contributions to all aspects of nuclear physics.

-Helmut E. Landsberg, emeritus professor at the University of Maryland, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge and applications of climatology.

-Walter H. Munk of the University of California, San Diego, for his unique contributions to the sciences of geophysics and physical oceanography.

-Frederick Reines of the University of California, Irvine, for his experimental discovery of the free neutrino and explanation of its properties and interactions.

-Bruno B. Rossi of MIT for fundamental contributions to physics and astronomy through his investigations into nature and the origin of cosmic rays.

-J. Robert Schrieffer of the University of California, Santa Barbara, in recognition of his insight into cooperative effects in solids and solid surfaces.

Los Angeles Times Articles