YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


April 04, 1985

Greg Zermeno has been named superintendent of the California Youth Authority's Fred C. Nelles School in Whittier. He comes to the Nelles School from the CYA's Preston School in Ione in Northern California, where he was assistant superintendent.

Marie Van Patten is the new district executive of the Rio Hondo Boy Scout District, the first woman to hold the position in the Los Angeles Area Council.

Van Patten, 22, will graduate in the summer with a major in youth agency administration from Pepperdine University in Malibu.

The Rio Hondo Boy Scout District serves more than 3,000 Cubs and Scouts in 126 packs and troops in Montebello, Pico Rivera, Santa Fe Springs, Whittier and La Habra Heights, and portions of La Mirada, Norwalk and Downey.

Jeffrey R. Fretz of Whittier has been named the outstanding Eagle Scout of the year from the Los Angeles Area Council, Boy Scouts of America. Fretz, 20, is the son of Mr. and Mrs. James Fretz.

James J. Sullos of Long Beach has been elected president of the state Board of Accountancy, the licensing and regulatory agency for 42,000 California accountants.

Five Long Beach high school students were winners of 1984 Achievement Awards in Writing sponsored by the National Council of Teachers of English. The local winners, who will be recommended for college scholarships, are James C. Chow and Adelaide L. Shinkle of Wilson High, Mark A. DeSanti of Poly High, Hokilani M. Haynes and Mark D. Wigod of Millikan High.

Shirley R. Saltman has been elected chairwoman of the board of Long Beach Transit. Saltman is a real estate agent who was appointed to the board in 1981.

Betty Brooks of Long Beach has received the Susan B. Anthony Award from the Long Beach Chapter of the National Organization for Women. The award is presented annually to women who have contributed significantly to women's equality.

Brooks has taught classes on women's self-defense and feminist philosophy at Cal State Long Beach and Long Beach City College and for women's organizations. She is the founder of the Rape Crisis Hotline.

Jim C. Robinson, a professor at Cal State Long Beach, has been appointed to the Los Angeles County Housing Commission.

Ding-Jo Currie of Long Beach has received the 1985 Women Helping Women Award from the Soroptimist International Club of Long Beach. Currie is coordinator for the Refugee Assistance Program at Long Beach City College.

James and Mamie Robertson, civilian volunteers in the Lakewood sheriff's station, were among the honorees at a recent recognition dinner at which Sheriff Sherman Block was host.

Assemblyman Dennis Brown (R-Signal Hill) has been appointed chairman of the Assembly Ways and Means Subcommittee on Transportation.

Naida N. Hanson of Long Beach has been appointed to the Los Angeles County Election Commission.

Los Angeles Times Articles