YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Cerritos Sophomore Wilkinson Named SCC Player of the Year

May 30, 1985

Sophomore Scott Wilkinson of Cerritos College was named the South Coast Conference's Player of the Year in a vote of conference coaches.

Wilkinson, a transfer from Santa Ana College, hit .417 for the SCC-champion Falcons with 10 home runs and a conference-leading 54 RBIs.

Cerritos led all schools five players on the all-SCC first team. First-year coach was also voted Coach of the Year.

The 1985 all-South Coast Conference team:

First Team

Pitchers: Dave Serrano, Cerritos, sophomore; Al Osuna, Cerritos, sophomore; Mike Schwabe, Santa Ana, freshman; Jim Bennet, Cypress, freshman.

Catchers: Shane Flores, Golden West, sophomore; Paul Ellison, Orange Coast, freshman.

First baseman: Ron Ewart, Cerritos, sophomore.

Infielders: Craig Worthington, Cerritos, sophomore; Vince Shinholster, Santa Ana, sophomore; Shawn Gilbert, Golden West, sophomore; Ever Magallane, Cerritos, sophomore; Craig Repoz, Fullerton, .314, freshman.

Outfielders: Frank Bellino, Mt. San Antonio, sophomore; Dave Rolland, Orange Coast, sophomore; Gary Thomason, Santa Ana, sophomore; Marc Huff, Compton, sophomore, Gene Roumimper, Orange Coast, sophomore.

Designated Hitter: Ruben Gonzales, Santa Ana, freshman.

Second Team

Pitchers: Longo Garcia, Orange Coast, freshman; Gary Buckels, Golden West, sophomore; John Sinclair, Saddleback, freshman; Gary Pifer, Santa Ana, sophomore.

Catchers: Bryan Flatten, Cypress, sophomore; Bill Mosiello, Cerritos, sophomore.

First basemen: Steve Nichols, Saddleback, sophomore; Jim Jackle, Cypress, freshman.

Infielders: Mike Benjamin, Cerritos, sophomore; Darren Nelson, Fullerton, sophomore; Anthony White, Compton, sophomore; Chris Kocman, Cypress, freshman; Scott Melendrez, Mt. San Antonio, sophomore.

Outfielders: Quinn Mack, Cerritos, sophomore; Doug Maher, Santa Ana, sophomore; Mark Baca, Cypress, sophomore; Bert Lizzaraga, Cypress, sophomore; Jim Arias, Fullerton, sophomore.

Player of the Year: Scott Wilkinson, Cerritos, sophomore.

Coach of the Year: George Horton, Cerritos.

Los Angeles Times Articles