YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Candidates Set in 19 Area School, College District Races

August 18, 1985|STEVEN R. CHURM | Times Staff Writer

This fall 148 candidates will run for school boards in 19 community college, high school and elementary districts from Long Beach to Whittier. The election is Nov. 5.

The following is a district-by-district look at the races, including the number of vacancies, candidates and their professions as listed on nomination papers filed with the Los Angeles County Registrar of Voters. Unless noted, all terms are four years.

ABC UNIFIED--Three seats, 10 candidates, including incumbents Rodney H. Davis, who is seeking a third term, and Peggy Lee, who is seeking a second term. The challengers are salesman Charles W. Abraham, attorney Barbara Y. Goul, computer engineer Rodger E. Bakkers, aerospace engineer Bertrand B. Dionne, attorney Catherine Grant, businessman Gordon Herrema, purchaser Rodney Toledo and management consultant George Medina.

Trustee William Watt is retiring after 13 years on the board.

BELLFLOWER UNIFIED--Three seats, 11 candidates, including incumbents Larry Ward, who is seeking a third term, and Justine Miller and Peggie Turner, both seeking second terms. The challengers are computer consultant Linda L. Brecht, maintenance mechanic Donald K. Clough, retired teacher Donald L. (Don) Hansen, retired machinist Gene Bullock, chapel administrator Harvey Conn, bookstore owner Mike Lord, transportation commissioner Dave Manuel and general contractor Donald T. Rounds.

COMPTON UNIFIED--Four seats, 20 candidates, including incumbents Manuel (Manny) Correa, who is seeking his fourth term, and Kelvin D. Filer, Sam Littleton and John Steward, all seeking second terms.

The challengers are engineer Michael K. Baines, teacher Rita Bright-La Velle, Willie Bobbitt, aircraft mechanic Audrey M. Brooks, community activist Al Cabrera, educator Saul E. Lankster, engineer Edward S. Loney, school administrator Hubert L. Parker, administrative secretary Marian Thompson, business education coordinator Verda M. Cheathem, public administrator Charles Evans, attorney Dana LaMon, parks and recreation commissioner Margaret Moore, concerned community person Gorgonio Sanchez Jr., instructional aide Mae Thomas and computer operator Michael Williams.

DOWNEY UNIFIED--Three seats, four candidates. Trustee Area 1: Incumbent Robert E. Riley is seeking his second term against challenger Andrew A. Harrod, a businessman. In Trustee Area 5, incumbent Walter S. Temple is running unopposed for his second term, and in Trustee Area 7, Grace E. Horney is running unopposed for her sixth term.

EAST WHITTIER CITY--Three seats, nine candidates, including incumbent Shirley W. Nielsen, who is running for a second term. Challengers are financial adviser Stephen R. Fry, realtor Marilyn M. Mailloux, real estate broker Kenneth Nugent, educator Odell Scott, bank operations manager David P. Tyner, business owner Paula Hodgin, educator James Stewart and attorney Russell S. Woodward.

Trustees Lillian Singelyn, who has served two terms, and Philip Ellis, who served six years, are not seeking reelection.

EL RANCHO UNIFIED--Three seats, four candidates, including incumbents Frank P. Boyce, E. A. (Pete) Ramirez and George D. Crook, all seeking third terms. The lone challenger is school administrator Henry Ronquillo.

LITTLE LAKE CITY--Two seats, three candidates, including incumbent Richard J. Moore. The challengers are homemaker May B. Sharp and community volunteer Dorothy Porter.

Trustee Sylvia Swanson is not seeking reelection after 18 years on the board.

LOS NIETOS--Three seats, five candidates, including incumbents Richard D. Alvarez and David Waugh, both seeking second terms. Challengers are secretary Angelica G. Johnson, homemaker Alice Gill and police officer Leonard G. Munoz.

Trustee Angie Andicochea is retiring after serving one term.

LOWELL JOINT UNION--Three seats, four candidates, including incumbents Herb Griffith, who is seeking his second term, and Janet B. Averill and Joyce Canfield, both seeking their fourth terms. Challenging is personnel administrator I. A. (Augie) Ryanen.

LYNWOOD UNIFIED--Two seats, eight candidates, including incumbents Helen T. Andersen and Joe T. Battle, both seeking second terms. The challengers are general services manager Leonard C. Coes, family-child psychotherapist Charles E. Glenn, minister David K. Corbin, engineering aide Carol Green, businesswoman Cynthia Y. Green-Geter and businessman Albert Penalber.

MONTEBELLO UNIFIED--Three seats, 10 candidates, including incumbents Darrell Heacock, who is running for a third term; Eleanor K. Chow, who is seeking a fourth term, and Herbert M. Stearns, who is running for a sixth term. Challengers are warehouseman Herman Cruz, personnel manager Rebecca A. Crowe, community volunteer Carmen Nila, bus operator Thomas. B. Ortega, community volunteer Bobbie C. Odou, freight clerk John A. Sanchez and administrator David Valdez.

Los Angeles Times Articles