YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Notebook / Alan Drooz : Two Players in the Race for Career Basketball Scoring Record at Loyola

January 09, 1986|ALAN DROOZ

They're playing the numbers at Loyola Marymount University these days but it's nothing illegal. It's the assault on the school's basketball career scoring record by Forrest Walton-McKenzie and Keith Smith.

Jim Haderlein has held the record of 1,706 since 1971. McKenzie, averaging 19.5 this season, entered Tuesday's game against St. Ambrose needing only 16 points to pass Haderlein. Smith, the conference scoring champ last season and a 24.2-points-per-game scorer this year, is only 29 behind McKenzie.

With Saturday's game against U.S. International University and 14 West Coast Athletic Conference games to go, both players figure to leave Haderlein far behind as they approach 2,000 points.

Smith and McKenzie are thought to be the highest-scoring tandem on the Division I college scene this season, accounting for nearly 44 points per game.

The Lions have had the last three WCAC scoring leaders. McKenzie, who sat out last season, led the conference the year before. Greg Goorjian was the scoring champ in 1982-83.

Haderlein, incidentally, played when freshmen weren't eligible for the varsity level, so he set the mark in three years. Both McKenzie and Smith saw considerable action as freshmen and have had four-year varsity careers. Last year, Smith scored 678 points to break Haderlein's single-season mark of 659. Goorjian set the season scoring average record of 26.5.

State track power Hawthorne, testing itself without graduated sprint star Henry Thomas for the first time in four years, will have representatives sprinkled throughout the high school events of the Jan. 17 Sunkist Invitational at the Sports Arena.

Here is the full lineup of South Bay athletes scheduled to compete in the Sunkist:

Mickey Carlos of South Torrance in pole vault (Peter Yee of Rolling Hills alternate); Hawthorne and Palos Verdes in the girls 2-mile relay; Hawthorne in the boys 2-mile relay; Deanna Amy of Hawthorne in the girls 500; Joseph Hart of Locke and Kent Johnson of Westchester in the boys 500; Hawthorne in the boys 4-by-160 relay; Kim McAlister of Locke and Trudy Palmer of Westchester in the girls 880.

Also, Trini Woods of Hawthorne in the boys triple jump; Vincent Thompson of Locke and Carlos Noya of Narbonne in the boys 880; Richard Hirschman of Torrance in the boys rated mile; Robert Morris of Hawthorne in the 60-yard hurdles; Calvin Holmes of Carson and Michael Ford of San Pedro in the "football 60-yard dash"; Hawthorne, Locke and West Torrance in the girls 4-by-160 relay; Hawthorne and Locke in the girls mile relay, and Hawthorne, Narbonne, Banning and Locke in the boys mile relay.

Among those in the majors portion of the meet is Carson resident Tonie Campbell, winner of the Grand Prix and World Cup in high hurdles last year. The 1980 Olympian, a Banning High graduate, will challenge a field including U.S. rival Greg Foster, 1984 Olympic silver medalist.

If further proof is needed of the South Bay's domination of girls and womens' soccer on the West Coast this decade, the new NCAA All-America team is evidence. Three Californians are on the first team, all from South Bay high schools.

Lesle Gallimore of UC Berkeley was named an All-American for the fourth year. She is a South Torrance High graduate. Carin Jennings of UC Santa Barbara (Palos Verdes High) and Jenny Fechner of Santa Clara (Palos Verdes) also received All-American honors. Jennings, the all-time CIF Southern Section scoring leader, is a repeater as a junior.

Meanwhile, the Intercollegiate Soccer Assn. of America named Trudi Sharpsteen of UC Berkeley (Palos Verdes High) to its first team, and Gallimore and UC Santa Barbara goalie Monica Hall (South Torrance) to its second team.

Add Soccer: A girls youth team from Manhattan Beach recently won the championship of the Southern California Municipal Athletic Federation tournament, which covered an area from San Diego to San Luis Obispo. The junior high-age girls from American Martyrs School beat out another South Bay team, Manhattan Beach Intermediate, for the title.

The American Martyrs team earlier won the South Bay League with an undefeated record and won the Bishop Montgomery and Chadwick Middle School tournaments.

Team members are Val Strom, Alex Simoncini, Danielle Roman, Heidi Eick, Megan Acuna, Amy Banachowski, Kelly Wood, Sandy Sherbrook, Heidi Sikonia, Jaime Malpede, Shelly Eshbaugh and Jennifer Haney. Coaches were Adrienne Prossner and Nancy Sheehan.

Los Angeles Times Articles