YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

San Diego County Digest

San Diego

June 07, 1986

Seven San Diego County public schools are among California's "Distinguished Schools." The awards program is designed by the state Department of Education to recognize outstanding achievements in education at the middle and high school levels. Thirty high schools and 60 middle schools across the state were selected.

The Education Department chose the schools based on test scores from the California Assessment Program, an 18-page application that the schools submitted, and visits to the schools by department employees. Schools winning awards in the San Diego area are:

- Orange Glen High School in the Escondido Union High School District.

- Southwest High School in the Sweetwater Union High School District.

- Torrey Pines High School in the San Dieguito Union High School District.

- Hill Creek School and Rio Seco School, both middle schools in the Santee School District.

- Roosevelt Junior High School in the San Diego Unified School District.

- Twin Peaks Middle School in the Poway Unified School District.

Bill Honig, state superintendent of public instruction, announced the winners Friday in Los Angeles.

Los Angeles Times Articles