YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


July 06, 1986

Larry Tominaga, a senior at Palos Verdes High School, won first prize in the fifth Congressional Art Competition for high school students.

Tominaga, along with Rep. Daniel E. Lungren (R-Long Beach), took part in a ribbon-cutting ceremony in the rotunda of Cannon Tunnel in the House of Representatives.

The corridor connects the Cannon House office building with the Capitol.

Tominaga's pen-and-ink drawing titled "Steps of My Life" will be on display in the corridor through May, 1987.

Dominic De Cristofaro was elected chairman and David S. Cannom vice chairman of the Research and Education Institute and the Professional Staff Assn. of Harbor-UCLA Medical Center in a combined meeting of the organizations.

The institute administers 400 research projects in a broad range of biomedical disciplines. The association is a self-governing entity, responsible for the quality of medical care at the medical center.

Arnold Iniguez will represent the students of El Camino College on the college district's Board of Trustees during the 1986-87 school term. Although he will not participate in sessions dealing with personnel or pending litigation, he will be a non-voting representative in all other board matters.

Yvette Castillo del Muro of Hawthorne will serve as president of the Associated Students of El Camino College next year.

John A. Brownell has been appointed academic vice president of California State University, Dominguez Hills. Brownell, formerly vice president of the East-West Center in Hawaii and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Alaska, replaces Donald A. MacPhee. MacPhee has taken the position of president at the Fredonia campus of the State University of New York.

The Conference of California Historical Societies has given its Individual Award of Merit to Betty and David Forsyth of Manhattan Beach. The award, given for "distinguished contribution to the preservation of California history," acknowledges the Forsyths' research and volunteer activities with the Historical Society of Centinela Valley.

Also at the conference luncheon in Sacramento, Ann Wiedel Shea was installed as president. Shea is the second member of the Historical Society of Centinela Valley to serve as state president.

Floyd Carr Jr. of El Segundo has been chosen Centinela Valley YMCA Person of the Year. Carr was honored for his leadership of the Metropolitan board of directors of the YMCA.

Colinda Lynch of Hawthorne was named YMCA Youth of the Year. The Bishop Amat High School senior represented Centinela Valley YMCA in the National YMCA Swim Championship in Fort Lauderdale, Fla., last month.

Anna Marie Sandoval of Carson will represent Los Angeles in the junior division of the America's Miss Charm National Scholarship Pageant in Orlando, Fla. Sandoval, 11, will perform as a dancer in the competition for $100,000 in scholarships, prizes and awards.

Los Angeles Times Articles