YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

First-round Daytime Emmy Winners

July 15, 1986|LEE MARGULIES | Times Staff Writer

"Donahue" and "Jim Henson's Muppet Babies" were repeat winners in the first round of ceremonies honoring winners of the 13th annual Emmy Awards for daytime TV programs.

"Donahue" was named best talk/service show and "Muppet Babies" was selected as best animated program, the second year in a row they captured those honors.

But the program that walked away with the largest number of Emmys in the non-televised event was "Babies Having Babies," a "CBS Schoolbreak Special" for young people about a group of pregnant teen-age girls. It won four: for director Martin Sheen (in his first directing effort), for writers Kathryn Montgomery and Jeffrey Auerbach, for videotape editor Stuart Pappe and for sound technicians Mark Bovos, Tom Huth and Mike Mitchell.

Most of the 33 awards presented Sunday by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences were in the craft areas. Another 14 Emmys, mostly covering programs and performers, will be presented Thursday in ceremonies at the Waldorf Astoria in New York, to be broadcast nationally by NBC (2 p.m., Channels 4, 36 and 39).

In Sunday's event, held at the Sheraton-Premiere, CBS won 13 Emmys, ABC and PBS got 7 each, NBC collected 4 and syndicated programs received 2.

The only other program awards came in a special-class category. They went to NBC's "Chagall's Journey" and PBS' "Live From Lincoln Center: Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center with Irene Worth and Horacio Gutierrez."

One Emmy for performing was awarded. Pearl Bailey was named best performer in a children's program for her role in "Cindy Eller: A Modern Fairy Tale," an "ABC Afterschool Special."

Directing Emmys went to Dick Carson for "The Wheel of Fortune" in the game show category and to Russell F. Morash for "This Old House" on PBS in the talk/service show category.

"Sesame Street" won three Emmys, for best writing in a children's series, art direction and costume design.

Robert Elswit won the cinematography award for his work on "The War Between the Classes," a "CBS Schoolbreak Special," and Michael Franks won in the music direction and composition category for "Are You My Mother?," an "ABC Afterschool Special."

Los Angeles Times Articles