YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Businessman-Pilot Appointed to Vacant Seat on Airport Authority

September 21, 1986

The Burbank City Council has chosen Brian Bowman, a businessman who ran unsuccessfully for the council last year, to occupy the seat on the Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport Authority that was vacated when the council ousted Commissioner Margie Gee.

Bowman, 49, president of Ryan Herco Products Corp., an industrial plastics firm, was chosen over 13 other applicants.

He took his seat on authority last week.o

Bowman said he was reluctant to apply for the post because he had campaigned against three of the members of the council and he submitted his application late in the process.

But he said he was "quite pleased" by his appointment "because I think this shows that there is moderation and good judgment. They have appointed someone on the basis of who is best qualified."

Bowman, who has not been involved in airport affairs in the past, pointed out that he is a private pilot and his firm's offices are just two blocks east of the airport. He said he will bring balance to the authority because, although he is an aviator and conscious of the economic benefits the airport generates, he is also among those most affected by aircraft noise.

Councilmen Robert R. Bowne and Michael R. Hastings and Mayor Mary Kelsey voted for Bowman. Councilwoman Mary Lou Howard, also an airport commissioner, voted for Deputy Dist. Atty. Jeffrey Jonas. Councilman Al F. Dossin voted for Francis Archdekin, an energy consultant.

Among the other candidates were Mason (Hap) Arnold, a former structural manufacturing official; John Shelton, a senior computer engineer; Brian Heyman, an airport fireman; Bruno Kotowski, an unemployed engineer; William Newbro, a vice president of the Automobile Club of Southern California; businessman Donald Pyne; and James Roundtree, a retired Pacific Bell employee.

Other candidates were longtime political gadfly Jules Kimmett and housewives Bonnie Lee Hoeschen, Carole Kubasak and Maria Mueller.

Each of the three cities that formed the airport authority is entitled to three seats on the governing panel.

Los Angeles Times Articles