YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Prep Cross-Country : Corona del Mar Boys Win Sea View Title

November 01, 1986

Sophomores Greg Shryock and Eddie Lavelle finished second and third to lead the Corona del Mar boys' cross-country team to victory in the Sea View League finals Friday in Irvine Park at Orange.

Shryock ran the three-mile course in 14 minutes 58 seconds and Lavelle in 15:02 as the Sea Kings scored 45 points.

Tustin (56) was second, Newport Harbor and University tied for third (66), Estancia (125) was fifth and Saddleback (167) sixth.

Senior Rick Brethour (14:51) of Tustin won the race.

Fourth place went to Jim Gerlings (15:07) of Newport Harbor, Paul Guzman (15:22) of Tustin was fifth, Paul Ishimine (15:27) of University sixth, Collin Bode (15:39) of Newport Harbor seventh, Alex Mate (15:41) of Tustin eighth, Dave Uri (15:43) of University ninth and Larry Stilgeubauery (15:43) of Newport Harbor 10th.

The Newport Harbor girls' team placed six runners in the top 10 to win the championship with 23 points.

Corona del Mar (65) was second, Tustin (82) third, Estancia (93) fourth, University (124) fifth and Saddleback sixth (170).

Kim Robinson of Newport Harbor won the the three-mile race in 17:52. Leslie Cashion (18:02) of Corona del Mar was second and Mari Benavidies (18:15) of Estancia third.

The Sailors took the next four spots.

Tiffany Anderson (18:25) was fourth, Beth Pudley (18:34) fifth, Lena Dahbour (18:40) sixth and Jody Ruffini (19:13) seventh.

In the Empire League finals:

Katella, with 40 points, won the boys' competition at Fullerton's Craig Park.

Esperanza (46) was second, Los Alamitos (61) third, Loara (121) fourth, Cypress (127) fifth, Pacific (174) sixth, Kennedy (176) seventh and El Dorado (223) eighth.

Zach Loomer of Kennedy won the three-mile race in 15:59. Alfredo Resendiz (16:05) of Katella was second and Willie Demello (16:19) of Esperanza third.

The Esperanza girls' team placed four runners in the top 10 to win the title with 50 points.

Los Alamitos (56) was second, El Dorado (77) third, Kennedy (92) fourth, Cypress (122) fifth, Katella (126) sixth, Pacifica (176) seventh and Loara didn't have enough runners to qualify.

Beth Rosipajila of El Dorado won in 18:55, and teammate Julie Cooper (19:46) was second. Jennifer Cook (20:03) of Esperanza was third.

Kim Hayford (20:38) of Esperanza was fifth, with teammates Julie Gilbert (21:18) ninth and Michelle Mitchell (21:55) 10th.

In Pacific Coast League finals:

Laguna Beach won both the girls' and boys' titles in races held at Woodbridge High School.

Chris Hobson of Costa Mesa won the boys' race in a time of 15:01, defeating Kurt DePfyffer of Laguna Beach by a tenth of a second. Laguna Beach had 45 points, Laguna Hills (57) was second and Costa Mesa (59) was third.

Freshman Cathi Peck of Woodbridge won the girls' race in 18:13. Wendy Petersen of Laguna Beach (18:15) was second and teammate Meagan Barnett (18:50) was third. Laguna Beach won the title with 27 points, Woodbridge (41) was second and Laguna Hills (70) third.

Los Angeles Times Articles