YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Kane Among 26 Nominees for the Hill Trophy

November 13, 1986

Cal State Northridge running back Mike Kane is among 26 nominees for the first Harlon Hill Trophy, NCAA Division II football's equivalent to the Heisman Trophy.

The winner will be announced Dec. 11. Nominations were made by sports information directors, who also will vote.

Harlon Hill was a small college All-American receiver for Florence State Teachers College--now North Alabama--and an All-Pro with the Chicago Bears.

Kane, a school-record holder in career and season rushing and the Western Football Conference season-record holder for scoring, leads his conference in rushing (130.4 yards per game), scoring (8.0 per game) and punt returns (11.3 yards per return).

Others nominees from the West: Jeff Bentrim, quarterback, North Dakota State; Keith Coleman, linebacker, Nebraska-Omaha; Scott Jones, quarterback, South Dakota; Chris Petersen, quarterback, UC Davis; Jeff Tiefenthaler, receiver, South Dakota State; Corey Veech, running back, Minnesota-Duluth; Craig Wallis, quarterback, Cal State Chico.

From the Midwest: Johnny Bailey, running back, Texas A&I; Ned Cox, quarterback, Angelo State; Russell Evans, receiver, Northeast Missouri State; Cedric Gordon, receiver, Ferris State; Rex Lamberti, quarterback, Abilene Christian; Tod Mayfield, quarterback, West Texas State; Vince Mazza, punter-placekicker, Ashland; Terry Morrow, running back, Central State, Oh.; Dave Walter, quarterback, Michigan Technological.

From the South: Tony Carroll, quarterback, Tuskegee; Earl Harvey, quarterback, North Carolina Central; Kenny Littles, defensive end, Livingston; Greg Lloyd, linebacker, Fort Valley State; Marvin Marsh, running back, North Alabama; Mike Turk, quarterback, Troy State; Teddy Wilson, receiver, Central Florida.

From the East: Paul Magistro, running back, Kutztown; Robert McDonough, defensive back, California University, Penn.

Los Angeles Times Articles