YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Group Aims at Youth Development : 24 National Leaders Named to Serve on Carnegie Council

November 14, 1986|ELIZABETH MEHREN | Times Staff Writer

NEW YORK — Twenty-four national leaders from education, science, government, law, business, religion, health, journalism and youth agencies have been named to the Carnegie Council on Adolescent Development, a program undertaken by the Carnegie Corp. of New York last June to generate public and private action for the promotion of adolescent development.

Serving the council will be a small professional staff based in Washington, headed by Dr. Ruby Takanishi. Formerly associated with the American Psychological Assn., Takanishi is a specialist in child development and social policy and has served at the faculties of UCLA, Yale and the Columbia Teachers College.

"Given the enormous burden of illness, suffering and cost to the nation represented by adolescent problems, issues such as school-age pregnancy, school failure, abuse of alcohol and other drugs, violence and suicide deserve a higher place on the national agenda," said Carnegie Corp. president Dr. David A. Hamburg.

Mobilizing Resources

Added Hamburg, "The council will attempt to mobilize the resources within many sectors of American society to increase our knowledge and effectiveness in coping with such problems."

Members of the new council include Duke University President Dr. H. Keith Brodie, past president of the American Psychiatric Assn.; Dr. Michael I. Cohen, chairman of the department of pediatrics at New York's Montefiore Hospital and a recognized expert in adolescent health; and Alonzo Crim, superintendent of the Atlanta Public School system

Also appointed: Michael S. Dukakis, recently elected to his third term as governor of Massachusetts and a leader in the Governors' Alliance Against Drugs; Dr. Beatrix A. Hamburg, clinical professor of psychiatry, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, New York; David E. Hayes-Bautista, acting director of UCLA's Chicano Studies Research Center and author of "The Burden of Support: Young Latino Population in an Aging Anglo Society"; Fred M. Hechinger, president of the New York Times Company Foundation; Maryland State Schools Superintendent David Hornbeck; Sen. Daniel K. Inouye (D-Hawaii).

Other members are Rep. James M. Jeffords (R-Vt.); Richard Jessor, director of the Institute of Behavioral Sciences at the University of Colorado; New York attorney Helene Kaplan; Sen. Nancy L. Kassebaum (R-Kansas); New Jersey Gov. Thomas H. Kean; ABC-TV journalist Ted Koppel; Hartford, Conn., School Superintendent Hernan La Fontaine; Stanford University psychology professor Eleanor E. Maccoby; Ray Marshall, economics professor at the LBJ School of Public Affairs, University of Texas; and Dr. Julius B. Richmond, director of the Harvard University division of health policy research and education.

Completing the council's membership: Rev. Kenneth B. Smith, president of the Chicago Theological Seminary; Wilma Tisch, formerly the president of the Federation of Jewish Philanthropies; Dr. R. Roy Vagelos, chairman and chief executive officer of Merck & Co.; Admiral James D. Watkins, former U.S. chief of Naval Operations; William J. Wilson, chairman of the department of sociology at the University of Chicago.

Los Angeles Times Articles