YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

SAN DIEGO HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL : Roundup : Two At-Large Berths Determined

November 15, 1986|JEFFREY PARENTI

SAN DIEGO — Two at-large San Diego Section playoff teams, University City and Montgomery, were determined Friday night because both the City Western and Metro-Mesa leagues ended in three-way ties.

In such cases, all three teams go to the playoffs.

The hopes of six other teams will be determined at an 8 a.m. seeding meeting today.

The Football Advisory Committee, headed by section commissioner Kendall Webb, will choose six other at-large teams and seed all the playoff teams from 1 to 12 in the 2-A and 3-A divisions with the top four teams receiving first-round byes.

The four teams in the 3-A receiving first-round byes for winning their respective leagues were Mira Mesa, City Eastern; Mount Miguel, Grossmont; Vista, Palomar; and Sweetwater, Metro-Mesa.

Mira Mesa, which ended in a tie with Madison at 4-1, earned its spot by defeating Madison, 10-8, during the season. Sweetwater, upset by Chula Vista Friday night, finished in a three-way tie with Chula Vista and Montgomery, but was awarded the No. 1 spot by a draw out of a hat.

Madison, which defeated Serra last night, is the City Eastern League's No. 2 team. Morse, which upset Mira Mesa last night, moved ahead of Point Loma into third place, although both teams could receive at-large bids.

Other 3-A teams which earned playoff spots as their respective league's No. 2 teams were Helix, Grossmont; San Dieguito, Palomar; and Chula Vista, Metro-Mesa.

Because the 2-A has five league champions, the four teams receiving first-round byes will be determined at today's meeting.

La Jolla, USDHS and University City tied for the City Western League title with 4-1 league records. A vote among the three teams determined that La Jolla would be the league's No. 1 playoff representative and USDHS the No. 2 team.

Thursday night, University City was out of the running for the league title, but by Friday morning it had a chance to win it outright. Kearny was ruled to have used an ineligible player in its wins over University City and Mission Bay andhad to forfeit those wins.

Lincoln and Crawford tied for the City Central League title and Lincoln will be its No. 1 playoff representative on the strength of its 26-3 win over Crawford a week ago. Crawford will be the league's No. 2 team. Christian and Hoover finished in a tie for third place at 3-2. Christian, on the strength of its 13-7 win over Hoover, will be considered before Hoover, and there is a possibility that each team may receive an at-large bid.

Oceanside earned the Avocado League's No. 1 spot by defeating Carlsbad. Oceanside ended in a first-place tie with San Marcos at 5-1, but earned the top spot by defeating San Marcos 20-0 during the season. San Marcos is the No. 2 representative.

Most league's have two automatic playoff berths, but the Metro-South Bay, won by Castle Park, and the Grossmont 2-A, won by Grossmont, have only one automatic playoff berth.

Los Angeles Times Articles