YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

PLAYOFFS / Automatic Qualifiers

February 21, 1987

Avocado League--El Camino (21-3) won coin flip Friday to become the champion. Oceanside (17-7) is the second-place team.

City Central League--Lincoln (16-8) is the league champion. St. Augustine (15-7) beat Christian in a playoff Friday night to qualify for the 2-A playoffs as the league's second-place team.

City Eastern League--Morse (19-2) is the champion. Madison (17-7) finished second.

City Western League--Kearny (18-6) is the champion. Clairemont (16-7) finished second.

Grossmont League-- Monte Vista (17-5) won the league championship in a playoff over Mount Miguel (15-8) Friday night. Mount Miguel qualifies as the second-place team.

Metro-Mesa League--Sweetwater (15-9) is the champion. Hilltop (14-13) and Bonita Vista (10-13) will play a playoff game tonight at 7 at Castle Park High to determine the league's second-place team.

Metro-South Bay League--Castle Park (20-4) is the champion. Southwest (6-16) finished second.

Palomar League--Mount Carmel (20-3) is the champion. Torrey Pines (20-6) beat San Dieguito in a playoff Friday night to qualify for second place.

First round CIF playoff games are Tuesday and Wednesday.

League champions receive byes through to second round, which begins next Friday and Saturday.

Los Angeles Times Articles