YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Lynwood Chamber Leader

November 26, 1987

Ralph Cryer, vice president of Helen Grace Chocolates with corporate offices in Lynwood, has been elected president of the Lynwood Chamber of Commerce. He has served on the chamber board two years and has been second vice president and chairman of the retail trade promotions committee. Cryer will take office Jan. 1, succeeding Ken McJimsey, an exterminating company owner. Other newly elected chamber officers are Paul Solanki, a motel owner, first vice president; Bob Matthews, a manufacturer of redwood products, second vice president; and Bill Kolitz, manager of an office supply firm and a former chamber president in 1979-80, secretary-treasurer. The officers and board of directors will be installed at the chamber's annual dinner Jan. 23 at the Long Beach Petroleum Club.

2 Get German Study Grants

Two Long Beach City College students have received scholarships entitling them to eight weeks of language instruction beginning Jan. 4 at the city of their choice in Germany. John Gafford, 29, a computer science major, will study in Bremen, Germany, and Jeffery Lawson, 19, a chemistry major, has chosen Freiburg, Germany. Both are residents of Long Beach. The scholarships are the equivalent of $2,000 each, including room, board and some spending money, and are provided by the Goethe Institute, the official cultural center for the Federal Republic of Germany.

Planning Adviser Renamed

Long Beach resident Donald H. Bradish has been reappointed by Supervisor Deane Dana to the county Citizens Planning Council, a policy advisory group to the Regional Planning Commission. Bradish is a member of the American Orchid Society and the Apartment Owners Assn. of Southern California. He has been involved in the National Lutheran Scouting Assn. and served on the Long Beach Housing Task Force. Bradish is a retired fire protection engineer from the Los Angeles County Fire Department.

2 Return to Panel on Aging

Two professors at California State University, Long Beach, have been reappointed to the Los Angeles County Commission on Aging. They are Virginia Warren, associate dean of the School of Humanities since 1982 and professor of communicative disorders since 1973, and Dorothy Fornia, a faculty member since 1956, director of the university gerontology program, adviser for graduate students in home economics and part-time professor of physical education. Warren lives in Palos Verdes Estates and Fornia is a Long Beach resident.

15 Named to 'Who's Who'

Fifteen Long Beach City College students have been selected to be in the 1988 edition of "Who's Who in American Junior Colleges." They are Bruce Romeo Banares, Martin Danao, Mark Keller, Steve Kennedy, Mary Knox, Brian Meckna, Laura Perez, Ed Schmidt, Rob Taylor, Katie Timm and Diane Youngsma, all of Long Beach; Michelle Copelin of Huntington Beach; Joan Lydiard of Seal Beach; and Walt Webber and Laria Yeager, both of Lakewood. All are recipients of Viking Awards for last fall and spring semesters, which are the highest campus honors based on scholarship, leadership and extracurricular activities.

Presiding Judge Elected

James E. Pearce has been elected by the judges of Los Cerritos Municipal Court in Bellflower as presiding judge of that court for 1988. Pearce is a former Cerritos city councilman and has been a Cerritos resident for 20 years. He is a former deputy sheriff for Los Angeles County and used to have a law practice in Artesia and Bell.

Whittier Presiding Judge

Herbert J. Adden has been elected presiding judge of the Whittier Municipal Court for 1988. Adden, who has served for 19 years on the court, succeeds Judge Alfonso D. Hermo. The four judges and two court commissioners of the Whittier Municipal Court also elected Judge James A. McKechnie as assistant presiding judge. The court serves Whittier, Pico Rivera, Santa Fe Springs, La Habra Heights and parts of unincorporated Los Angeles County.

2 Volunteers Win Awards

Mary Jane Maloof, a member of the La Mirada Volunteer Center Board of Directors, received a directors' award at the recent annual state conference of the Volunteer Centers of California and Nevada. Maloof's was one of three such awards given. The La Mirada center presented its Volunteer of the Year award to Dorothy Craft, who has served the center since its beginning in 1977.

College TV Shows Honored

The Long Beach City College media services department has won three Woody Awards from the City of Lakewood for outstanding community television programs cablecast over the Jones Intercable system in the past year. Producers of the programs were students Steve Clayton, Jeff Williams, Leif Reich, Barbara Lindsay, Dave Hedwall and former student Dora Diaz.

Los Angeles Times Articles