YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

3 Aztecs Named to All-WAC Team

November 26, 1987

SAN DIEGO — Three members of the San Diego State football team, led by record-setting quarterback Todd Santos, were named to the All-Western Athletic Conference team announced Wednesday.

Other SDSU players named to the first team were cornerback Clarence Nunn and return specialist Monty Gilbreath.

Colorado State free safety Ron Cortell, a junior from Sweetwater High School, also was selected.

Santos, a senior from Selma, Calif., set five National Collegiate Athletic Assn. Division I-A records this season, including most career passing yards (11,425). Santos earned a slight edge over sophomore Dee Dowis of Air Force in the balloting of conference coaches.

Nunn, a senior from Gardena, tied for the team lead in interceptions with three.

Gilbreath, a sophomore wide receiver from Los Angeles, is third in the conference in all-purpose running with an average of 129 yards per game. He set SDSU season records with 40 kickoff returns for 880 yards, an average of 22 yards per return. He returned 16 punts for 205 yards, an average of 12.8 yards per return. Aztecs named to the second team were wide receiver Alfred Jackson, tight end Kerry Reed-Martin, offensive guard Reggie Blaylock, running back Paul Hewitt and defensive end Brett Faryniarz. Offensive lineman Dave DesRochers, center Kevin Wells and defensive back Mario Mitchell received honorable mention.

Brigham Young wide receiver Richard Zayas, from Monte Vista High School, was named to the second team.

Wyoming led all schools with seven first-team selections. The complete All-WAC first team:

OFFENSE Wide receivers: Gerald Mathis (New Mexico) and Anthony Sargent (Wyoming). Tight end: Bill Hoffman (Wyoming). Linemen: John Borgia (Brigham Young), Tony Kapuschion (Wyoming), Doug Fiala (Colorado State) and Roy Garcia (Air Force). Center: James Spady (Texas El Paso). Quarterback: Todd Santos (San Diego State). Running backs: John Harvey (UTEP), Gerald Abraham (Wyoming) and Heikoti Fakava (Hawaii). Kicker: Leonard Chitty (BYU). Return specialist: Monty Gilbreath (SDSU).

Defense Linemen: Chad Hennings (Air Force), Al Noga (Hawaii), Dave Futtrell (BYU) and Jeff Knapton (Wyoming). Linebackers: Galand Thaxton (Wyoming), Thor Salanoa (BYU), Joe Terry (UTEP) and Rip Burgwald (Air Force). Defensive backs: Eric Jacobsen (Utah), Troy Long (BYU), Ron Cortell (Colorado State), Clarence Nunn (SDSU). Punter: Tom Kilpatrick (Wyoming).

Los Angeles Times Articles