YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

San Diego Sports et Cetera

Chargers Sign 6 Replacements

February 23, 1988

Six players from the replacement team that earned the Chargers three straight victories during the NFL strike last season were among 10 free agents signed by the team Monday for the 1988 season.

The six players--Mike Kelley, Joe Goebel, Pat Miller, Duane Pettitt, Stacey Price and Ken Zachary--joined the team for the three replacement games, but were released after the strike ended.

The Chargers also signed placekicker Steve DeLine, defensive backs Ron Foster and Enis Jackson and defensive lineman John Fletcher.


Guard John Weiss came off the bench and made four of five three-pointers in a 14-0 run in the first half as Winthrop College rallied to beat United States International University, 75-58, in a nonconference game in Golden Hall.

After outscoring USIU, 14-0, Winthrop led, 33-21, with 1:14 remaining in the half and never trailed again. Weiss finished with 12 points. Greg Washington and Kenny Smith each scored 17 for Winthrop (14-11), of Rock Hills, S.C.

Charles Redding scored 18 points and Russ Heicke added 15 for USIU (8-18).


Orlin Norris of San Diego, the North American Boxing Federation heavyweight champion, and California state featherweight champion Jesus Poll of North Hollywood will headline the co-main events on tonight's boxing card at Reseda Country Club.

Poll (14-0-2, 5 knockouts) will meet Woody Clark (1-7-1, 8 KOs), and Norris (15-1, 8 KOs) will face Victor Paredes (12-5, 7 KOs) of Fort Bragg, N.C.

Both are non-title, 10-rounders.

Los Angeles Times Articles