YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Names in the News

June 09, 1988

Paul Garrett, who starred for Coach Howard Enstedt's Palisades High School volleyball team, the perennial Los Angeles City 4-A champion and winner of another such title this year, has been named the most valuable player in 4-A City basketball by a vote of coaches.

Garrett, a senior heading for Stanford, also shared Western League player of the year honors with Westchester senior Brett Schroeder. Schroeder also was included on the All-City 4-A first team with seniors Kory Hull and Dave Suarez, both of Palisades.

Second-team All-City selections from the Westside are junior David Martin and seniors Tony Zapata and Matt Unger, all of Palisades; University senior Greg Spector and Westchester junior Jimmy Blackman.

Third-team selections from the Westside are Hamilton junior Jeremy Shapiro, Westchester senior Robert Ramsey and University senior Garland Walker.

First-team Western League selections are Blackman, Hull, Ramsey, Jeremy Shapiro, Spector and Suarez. Second-team all-leaguers are Walker, Unger and Martin, Westchester junior Dan Belson, Hamilton seniors Andrew Markham and Brian Weisberg and Venice senior Robert Tripp

Those who received Western League honorable mention are senior Randy Fink and junior Collin Gerard of University, Palisades seniors Patrick Katman, Earl Richmond and Zapata, Westchester juniors Clayton Meixel and Tom Powledge, Venice junior Mike Shapiro and Hamilton senior Dimone Watson.

Richard Ginevan of Redondo Beach, chief park maintenance supervisor for the Los Angeles City Recreation and Parks Department, has been given responsibility for grounds maintenance and golf course operation for the department's Pacific Region.

Ginevan will be in charge of maintenance at 86 parks and golf operations at the Rancho Park, Penmar, Harbor Lake and Armand Hammer courses.

Ian Rankine and Ray Fitzpatrick defeated Stan Funk-Al Constantineau, 2 and 1, to win the A flight in the Penmar Men's Golf Club pairs match play championships. In B flight, Jack Keith-Sam Herr were the winners over George Lillie-Paul Herrick.

Los Angeles Times Articles