YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Many Repeat Winners in Daytime Emmys

June 30, 1988|JAY SHARBUTT | Times Staff Writer

NEW YORK — Talk show host Phil Donahue regained his Emmy crown and NBC's "Santa Barbara" was named best soap opera Wednesday at the 15th annual Daytime Emmy Awards here.

Donahue, who last year was bested by rival Oprah Winfrey, won his ninth Emmy as best talk show host, although Winfrey's syndicated "The Oprah Winfrey Show" was named best talk program for the second straight year.

Bob Barker was named best game show host for the second year in a row and his program, "The Price Is Right," won the Emmy as top game show.

Besides the Emmy as best daytime serial, "Santa Barbara" also saw one of its performers honored, as Justin Deas, who plays Keith Timmons, picked up the Emmy for best supporting actor.

Helen Gallagher got the Emmy as best actress in a drama series for her performance as Maeve Ryan in "Ryan's Hope," beating out four other rivals including former winner Erika Slezak of "One Life to Live" and Susan Lucci of "All My Children," who has been nominated nine times now without winning.

Public television's "Sesame Street" collected the award as best children's series for the 10th time, while CBS won in two other children's categories: A "Schoolbreak Special" called "Never Say Goodbye" was named best special and "Muppet Babies" was selected best animated program. The latter show also won in 1987.

Two actors who won in 1986 but not in 1987 were back at the podium Wednesday. David Canary got another Emmy for his dual role of Adam and Stuart Chandler on ABC's "All My Children," while his co-star Ellen Wheeler, who plays Cindy Parker, was named best supporting actress. She had won as best ingenue two years ago for her work on "Another World."

"All My Children" accounted for all four Emmys won by ABC Wednesday, although the day's big winner was CBS with six Emmys. NBC got three and PBS received one. Counting the Emmys that were handed out last Saturday in nontelevised ceremonies, CBS wound up with 19, NBC with 10, ABC with 8, PBS with 8 and syndicated programs with two.

Donahue, who hosted the ceremonies, noted at the outset of the CBS telecast that the producers of the award show had signed an independent contract Tuesday with the Writers Guild of America, which has been on strike against the networks and major TV and movie producers since March 7.

"In other words," said Donahue, who reportedly played a key role in the producers' decision, "our participation in this telecast in no way undermines any effort to reach a just settlement in what has become a long and painful labor action. Everyone in this room understands the importance of the contributions of the members of the Writers Guild to our individual careers and to our industry, and joins me in wishing them well and saying, out loud, that we miss you very much and we want you back to work very soon."

The strike also was mentioned by Lorraine Broderick as she picked up the Emmy for the writing staff of "All My Children." After saying thank you, she expressed hope that "both sides soon come to an agreement and we all can go back to work."

The awards, covering the period between March 6, 1987 and March 5, 1988, were presented jointly by the Los Angeles-based Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the New York-based National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Awards for prime-time programming will be presented Aug. 28.

Here is a complete list of winners in the 15th annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

Drama Series: "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Game Show: "The Price Is Right," CBS.

Children's Series: "Sesame Street, PBS.

Children's Special: "CBS Schoolbreak Special: Never Say Goodbye," CBS.

Animated Program: "Muppet Babies," CBS.

Talk/Service Show: "The Oprah Winfrey Show," synd.

Lead Actress, Drama Series: Helen Gallagher (as Maeve Ryan), "Ryan's Hope," ABC.

Lead Actor, Drama Series: David Canary (as Adam and Stuart Chandler), "All My Children," ABC.

Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Ellen Wheeler (as Cindy Parker), "All My Children," ABC.

Supporting Actor, Drama Series: Justin Deas (as Keith Timmons), "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Ingenue, Drama Series: Julianne Moore (as Frannie and Sabrina Hughes), "As the World Turns," CBS.

Younger Leading Man, Drama Series: Billy Warlock (as Frankie Brady), "Days of Our Lives," NBC.

Performer, Children's Programming: Philip Bosco, "ABC Afterschool Special: Read Between the Lines," ABC.

Game Show Host: Bob Barker, "The Price Is Right," CBS.

Talk/Service Show Host: Phil Donahue, "Donahue," synd.

Directing Team, Drama Series: Rudolph L. Vejar, Frank Pacelli, Heather Hill, Randy Robbins, Betty Rothenberg, "The Young and the Restless," CBS.

Directing, Children's Programming: Jeff Brown, "CBS Schoolbreak Special: What If I'm Gay?," CBS.

Directing, Game/Audience Participation Show: Bruce Burmester, "The $25,000 Pyramid," CBS.

Directing, Talk/Service Show: Russell Morash, "This Old House," PBS.

Directing, Special Class: Dick Schneider, "Macy's 61st Annual Thanksgiving Day Parade," NBC; Kirk Browning, "Un Ballo In Maschera," PBS.

Los Angeles Times Articles