YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


July 17, 1988

Kathleen Sullivan and Harry Smith hit the road this week.

The anchors of CBS' "This Morning," who have been paired since last November, will join the network migration from New York to Atlanta, site of the Democratic convention.

Each of the morning programs, including NBC's "Today" and ABC's "Good Morning America," will report from the Georgia capital in their usual weekday time slots (7-9 a.m.).

Moving toward prime time, the networks are primed to cover the convention at the Omni from 6-8 p.m. Monday through Thursday.

The tentative schedule: opening ceremonies and keynote speech by Texas State Treasurer Ann Richards (Monday); a platform committee report (Tuesday); presidential nomination (Wednesday); vice presidential nomination and acceptance speeches (Thursday).

As for the network news teams, CBS has Bruce Morton offering analysis and Diane Sawyer working on the podium, with Bob Schieffer, Lesley Stahl, Bill Plante and Ed Bradley as floor reporters.

NBC's contingent consists of Connie Chung (podium); Bob Kurr and Tom Pettit covering Democrats Michael Dukakis and the Rev. Jesse Jackson; and Chris Wallace, Andrea Mitchell, Ken Bode, Lisa Myers and Dennis Murphy (floor reporters).

ABC goes with commentators George Will and Tom Wicker, while James Wooten handles the podium and Sam Donaldson, Jeff Greenfield, Britt Hume and Lynn Sherr are on the floor.

Los Angeles Times Articles