YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

10 Drop Out : Field Pared to 30 for Council Race in La Crescenta

January 26, 1989|MARTHA L. WILLMAN | Times Staff Writer

Ten potential candidates have dropped out of the La Crescenta Town Council race, leaving a final field of 30 seeking election to the foothill community's first quasi-government board.

In order to qualify, candidates were required to submit personal profiles to a council formation steering committee, said John Janecek, committee spokesman. Ten residents who paid the $25 filing fee failed to turn in a profile by the deadline last week, he said.

The profiles and the candidates' stance on local issues will be printed in brochures and distributed to voters, Janecek said.

Three representatives from each of three U.S. Census tracts, plus one alternate from each, will be elected March 9 to make up the 12-member advisory board.

While the council will have no official power--it cannot enact or enforce laws--it is expected to serve as the voice for 20,000 residents of the unincorporated territory at the foot of the San Gabriel Mountains between the cities of Glendale and La Canada Flintridge.

The citizens panel is being formed at the request of Los Angeles County Supervisor Mike Antonovich and is endorsed by local business and community groups, said Sharon Beauchamp, co-founder of the council steering committee.

Candidates will be introduced at a luncheon forum Wednesday at La Canada Flintridge Country Club. A panel of six community leaders will discuss local issues, including conservation of natural resources, waste disposal, traffic, senior services and law enforcement.

The forum, sponsored by the Montrose/Verdugo City and Crescenta Valley chambers of commerce, is open to the public. Reservations at $12 per person are available by contacting Beauchamp at (818) 249-6679 by Monday.

A candidate forum is scheduled at 7 p.m. Feb. 16 at the Crescenta Valley County Park Recreation Center.

The 10 candidates in each of the three census tracts are:

Tract 3001: William C. Bening, Bruce E. Campbell Jr., Betty A. FitzGerald, Thomas M. Johnston, Jillayne D. Larson, Don Lawrie, Glynn B. Martin, Lee Rooklin, Judy Tejeda and George E. Wadey.

Tract 3002: Charles K. Beatty, William Beavers, Joseph Grosch, Margaret A. Klug, Ruth E. Knowlton, Debbi L. Meadows, Robert B. O'Neil, Bob Schell, Christopher R. Thomas and Larry Walter.

Tract 3005: Brett Joseph Brauneisen, James Carl Gilchrist, Dave Hale, Lawrence Don Hogue, Anthony P. Hurtado, Jack Kashirsky, Larry Lousen, Sharon Martin, John A. Montanio and Daniel J. Rendler.

Los Angeles Times Articles