Since 1987, California licensed drivers 55 and older have been entitled to auto insurance premium discounts on liability, medical and collision coverage if every 3 years they take a state-approved course designed to improve driving skills and promote road safety. Although discounts depend on a driver's record and insurance carrier, the law applies to all California automobile insurance companies.
The improvement course is available at private driving schools, public and private colleges and offered by nonprofit organizations at community-based locations. The cost is usually $8. The Department of Motor Vehicles will issue certificates to those who complete the course. The certificate must be submitted to an insurance carrier for discount benefit.
Here's a list of places where classes will be held during May:
Costa Mesa: 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. May 10 and 11 at Senior Community Center, 1845 Park Ave. For more information, call (714) 645-1032.
El Toro: 12:30 to 4:30 p.m. May 5 and 6 at Freedom Village, 23442 El Toro Road. For more information, call Margerite at (714) 472-4700.