YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

NBC's 'Santa Barbara' Is Top Daytime Emmy Winner

June 30, 1989|JAY SHARBUTT | Times Staff Writer

NEW YORK — With "Santa Barbara" winning six Emmys, including best soap opera honors for the second consecutive year, NBC had something to crow about Thursday at the 16th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

NBC, which televised the two-hour ceremonies at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel here, won a total of seven Emmys, followed by ABC with five, syndicated programs with three, CBS with two and PBS with one.

It was a day of disappointment, however, for Susan Lucci, who was making her 10th bid to win a best actress Emmy as Erica Kane of ABC's "All My Children." That honor went instead to Marcy Walker, who plays Eden Capwell on "Santa Barbara."

Other "Santa Barbara" cast members who picked up Emmys were Nancy Lee Grahn (who plays Julia Wainwright) as best supporting actress, Justin Deas (Keith Timmons) as best supporting actor, and Justin Gocke (Brandon Capwell) as best juvenile male. It was the second consecutive win for Deas.

"Santa Barbara" also won for best writing on a daytime serial, bringing its total Emmys this year to eight. In nontelevised ceremonies for the craft categories last Saturday, the NBC soap had been honored for makeup and hairstyling.

Despite Lucci's loss, "All My Children" won other tributes Thursday. David Canary was a repeat winner as best actor in a soap opera, honored for the second straight year for his dual roles of Adam and Stuart Chandler, and Debbi Morgan (who plays Angie Hubbard) shared supporting actress honors with Grahn of "Santa Barbara." Canary also had won in 1986.

For the third year in a row, "The Oprah Winfrey Show" was named daytime's best talk show. But neither Winfrey nor nine-time winner Phil Donahue won as best talk show host. They lost out to Sally Jessy Raphael for the syndicated series that bears her name.

Public television's "Newton's Apple," the 6-year-old science magazine, was named best children's series, and ABC's "The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh" won as best animated program.

CBS' "The $25,000 Pyramid" was named best game show, while Alex Trebek picked up the award as best game show host for his work on the syndicated "Jeopardy."

In the first year that they were eligible for Daytime Emmys, cable programs did not win any during Thursday's ceremonies. But the cable industry had picked up four of the golden statuettes at the nontelevised event last Saturday. HBO's children's series "Encyclopedia" won two, for makeup and costume design, Cinemax's "James Stewart's Wonderful Life" captured a special program award and the Disney Channel's "Kids Incorporated" picked up an Emmy for lighting direction.

Counting the craft awards, CBS wound up with a total of 17 Daytime Emmys. NBC had nine, PBS got eight, ABC and syndicated programs collected seven each.

During the telecast Thursday, Victoria Wyndham of NBC's "Another World" paid tribute to her longtime co-star in the series, Douglass Watson, who died May 1. A former Emmy winner, he had been posthumously nominated for again as best soap opera actor.

Wyndham, who worked with Watson for 16 years, called him "a risk taker, exacting and a gentleman. He gave 100%. . . . He was generous with his compliments and gentle with his criticism. He was the perfect acting partner."

The Daytime Emmys, covering the period between March 6, 1988, and March 5, 1989, were presented jointly by the Los Angeles-based Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the New York-based National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Awards for prime-time programming will be presented Sept. 17.

Here is a complete list of winners in the 16th annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

Drama Series: "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Talk/Service Show: "The Oprah Winfrey Show," synd.

Game Show: "The $25,000 Pyramid," CBS.

Children's Series: "Newton's Apple," PBS.

Animated Program: "The New Adventures of Winnie the Pooh," ABC.

Children's Special: "ABC Afterschool Special: Taking a Stand," ABC.

Special Class Program Area: "James Stewart's Wonderful Life," Cinemax; "China: Walls and Bridges," ABC.

Lead Actress, Drama Series: Marcy Walker (as Eden Capwell), "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Lead Actor, Drama Series: David Canary (as Adam and Stuart Chandler), "All My Children," ABC.

Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Debbi Morgan (as Angie Hubbard), "All My Children," ABC; Nancy Lee Grahn (as Julia Wainwright), "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Supporting Actor, Drama Series: Justin Deas (as Keith Timmons), "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Juvenile Female, Drama Series: Kimberly McCullough (as Robin Scorpio), "General Hospital," ABC.

Juvenile Male, Drama Series: Justin Gocke (as Brandon Capwell), "Santa Barbara," NBC.

Talk/Service Show Host: Sally Jessy Raphael, "Sally Jessy Raphael," synd.

Game Show Host: Alex Trebek, "Jeopardy," synd.

Performer, Children's Series: Jim Varney, "Hey Vern, It's Earnest!," CBS.

Performer, Children's Special: Dana Barron, "CBS Schoolbreak Special: No Means No," CBS.

Los Angeles Times Articles