YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

9 Others to Be Inducted Into Hall of Fame

October 05, 1989

In addition to Don Dyer, nine others will be inducted into the Cal State Long Beach Athletic Hall of Fame on Oct. 17 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Long Beach:

Hector Alvarez, a standout football lineman from 1959 to 1961.

Frank Bowman, an administrator and former faculty athletic representative for the university. He is now assistant vice president and staff coordinator of housing.

Bill Florentine, a basketball player from 1960 to 1962 who is seventh on the 49ers' career scoring list.

Don Gambril, who was a 49ers swimming coach and was coach of the 1984 U.S. Olympic swimming team.

Craig Hodges, a four-year basketball starter from 1979 to 1982 who is third on the university's career scoring list. He now plays for the Chicago Bulls.

Roger Hull, who hit .386 for the baseball team in the late 1950s.

Gary Ilman, a water polo star who won two gold medals in swimming in the 1964 Olympics.

Kim Maddox, a basketball star from 1977 to 1981 who is now a cadet trainee with the Long Beach Police Department.

Lou Ann Terheggen Selski, an All-American and a member of the 49ers' 1973 volleyball team that won a national championship.

Tickets are $75 for the induction dinner. For more information, call 985-4662.

Los Angeles Times Articles