YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Cheerleading Squad Wins a Victory of Its Own

March 17, 1990|HERBERT J. VIDA

The Santa Margarita High School competition cheerleading squad captured first place in the All-Girl Cheer Division at the United Spirit Assn. National Championships recently at UC Irvine.

The squad for the Rancho Santa Margarita Catholic school qualified for the event when it won the Raisin Bowl cheerleading competition in Fresno. Earlier, the squad scored an eighth place among 87 competitors at the National High School cheerleading championships in Orlando.

Squad members are Deana Pointon, Erica Policky, Erin Finnegan, Heather Jones, Darla Kosmal, Andrea Avdeef, Stephanie Sawyer, Amy Renziehausen, Tanya Ingardia, Lynn Boivin, Jami Orlowski, Dana Woods, Sonia Saenz, Jennifer Morrell, Katie Fracisco, Gwenne Eberle and Carey Biermann.

Andrea Clark and Emily Forster, eighth-graders at Harbor Day School in Corona del Mar, are finalists in the recent National Young Writers Foundation writing contest.

Andrea entered a humorous essay called "Why We Need Ears and Noses," and Emily submitted a reflective essay called "The Fawn." Both live in Corona del Mar.

Mater Dei High School junior Michael C. Belisle will become an Eagle Scout at a court of honor March 25 at St. Bonaventure Church in Huntington Beach.

The Westminster youth planned and organized the clearance and removal of weeds from the Santa Fe Dam Recreational area in Irwindale as his Eagle community project. He and 20 other scouts put in 95 service hours on the job.

Volunteer and former teacher Pat Soderquist of Fullerton was named Woman of the Year in the California 32nd Senate District.

Garden Grove Boy Scout James Soeffner, following in the steps of his father and uncle, has become an Eagle Scout.

Irvine resident William K. Ellermeyer, senior vice president at Lee Hecht Harrison Inc., an executive employment firm in Santa Ana, has been named Manager of the Year by the Orange County chapter of the Society for the Advancement of Management. The award, presented annually since 1967, recognizes achievement and excellence in management.

Ellermeyer, a graduate of Principia College in Elsah, Ill., is on the advisory boards of several Southern California organizations.

The Employer Advisory Council of Orange County was named the nation's Outstanding Local Job Service Employment Committee by the Employers' National Job Service Committee in Washington.

"This is just tremendous news," said Kaye R. Kiddoo, director of the State Employment Development Department. "I couldn't be more pleased.

The Orange County Chapter council is composed of 900 employers. The 14 committee members are Stewart Lerner, Pam DeMonte, Allene McDowell, Sharon Spring, Patty Simon-Maize, Richard Valenstein, Geme Fredrick, Gordon T. Hill, Jacqui Reilly, Adam Porter, April Josephson, Lyn Van Dyken, Brenda Baker and council President Marjorie A. Kelso.

Los Angeles Times Articles