YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

LOCAL NOTES : Solon Takes Lead in Race Across America

July 27, 1992

Paul Solon of San Francisco took the lead in the men's division of Race Across America late Sunday as the riders reached New Mexico.

Solon, who won the event in 1989, passed through time station No. 13 in Hondo, N.M., at 9:07 p.m. The town is 942 miles into the race, which started Friday in Irvine and ends in Savannah, Ga.

Solon is averaging 16.2 m.p.h. and 389 miles a day.

Rob Kish of Port Orange, Fla., is in second place, 35 minutes behind Solon. Kish finished second in the race in each of the past two years, but is considered a strong favorite this time because of the flatter course, which didn't go into the mountains of Colorado like it has the past two years.

Bob Forney of Denver, the two-time defending champion is third and David Kees of Auburn, Calif., is fourth.

Seana Hogan of San Jose continues to lead the women's division. She is through time station No. 14 in Roswell, N.M., 989 miles into the race.

She is averaging 12.6 m.p.h. and 301 miles a day but should be overtaken by the first group of male riders sometime today. The women's race started Thursday.

A day after losing the lead, Huntington Beach's David Warady fell farther behind on the 37th day of the Runner's World Trans America Footrace.

Tom Rogozinski of Pittsburgh passed Warady and led by about 27 minutes Saturday. He then won the 58.85-mile run from Marysville to Hiawatha, Kan., Sunday in 8 hours 7 minutes 53 seconds and leads Warady by 1:46:12. The runners have covered 1,660.90 miles of the 3,000-mile race that ends in 27 days.

Shane Beschen of San Clemente finished fourth at the Body Glove Malibu Pro stop of the Bud Surf Tour. Todd Prestage of Australia won the event.

Beschen's fourth-place finish gave him a 220-point lead in the overall title race.

Terence McNulty of San Juan Capistrano and Todd Miller of Newport Beach each reached the semifinals.

Tyce Routsen and Amy Sloan, both of Mission Viejo, won individual events at the U.S Diving Zone D Championships in Beaverton, Ore.

Routsen won the boys' 16-18 platform competition with a score of 423.00. Sloan won the girls' 14-15 1-meter title with a score of 340.05.

The Mission Viejo Nadadores qualified 15 divers for the national competition, Aug. 5-9 in Austin, Tex.

Los Angeles Times Articles