YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


October 25, 1992

Scores of local candidates will feel the will of the voters Nov. 3 as most of the cities in Orange County hold races to fill council seats. As usual, growth is among the hot topics, but the new councils will also have to deal with the effects of the state's recent round of budget cuts, which dramatically reduced funds funneled down to local municipalities. Even more state budget cuts are expected next year. Seats on community college and local school districts as well as judicial posts will also be contested.

* Indicates Incumbents

** Appointed Incumbents

JUDICIAL Central Municipal Court

Office No. 9

Sal Sarmiento

Donna L. Crandall Harbor Municipal Court

Office No. 1

Debra Allen

Margaret R. Anderson

For the Record
Los Angeles Times Tuesday October 27, 1992 Orange County Edition Metro Part B Page 3 Column 5 Metro Desk 1 inches; 26 words Type of Material: Correction
Lou Lopez--In Sunday's Decision '92 voter guide, challenger Lou Lopez was incorrectly identified as an incumbent member of the Anaheim Union High School District Board of Education.

COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICTS North Orange County Community College District

Trustee Area 1

2 seats open

Stephen W. Bristol

Marlen M. Gonzalez

Leonard Lahtinen *

Cynthia P. Coad

Steve White

Trustee Area 3

Barbara G. Hammerman

Lyndon Taylor

Lowell Thomas

Trustee Area 4

Stephen T. Barber

Chris Loumakis * Coast Community College Distict

Trustee Area 2

Richard Avard

Nancy A. Pollard *

Trustee Area 3

Curtis Jones

Bryan Bridges

Earl J. Ziemann

Armando R. Ruiz * Rancho Santiago Community College District

Area 1

3 seats open

Michael Ortell *

John M. Raya **

Enriqueta L. Ramos

Ginger L. Cahill

Brian E. Conley *

Area 3

Alvin Suehiro

Tom Saenz

Mara Brandman **

Joseph Vanderhoff Saddleback Community College Distict

Trustee Area 1

Jim Palmer

Douglas M. Chapman

Harriett S. Walther *

Trustee Area 3

Shirley Gellatly *

Lee Rhodes

Trustee Area 6

Steven J. Frogue

Robert L. Moore *

Asha Knott

Trustee Area 7

Hassell W. Berry

Robert W. Moore

John C. Connolly *

John S. Williams

SCHOOL DISTRICTS Brea-Olinda Unified

3 seats open

Susie Sokol *

Todd Spitzer

Brian R. Burt *

Bernie Kilcoyne Capistrano Unified

Trustee Area 1

J. Michael Sedillo

Peter J. Espinosa

E. G. Kopp *

Trustee Area 2

Don Richardson

Marlene M. Draper *

Trustee Area 3

Mildred Daley Pagelow

Steve Caulkins

A. Edward Westberg *

Trustee Area 5

Sheila Benecke

Dustin D. Etheredge Laguna Beach Unified

2 seats open

Jan Vickers

Don Vickers

James G. Kreder *

Timothy D. Carlyle ** Los Alamitos Unified

3 seats open

Donna Artukovic *

Arthur T. Genet *

Ray Lecompte

Del Clark

Virginia F. Wilson * Placentia-Yorba Linda Unified

3 seats open

Constance Underhill *

Jerry Brakebill

Juliet H. Zaidi

Craig T. Olson

Henry D. Montelongo

Judy Miner *

Jesse A. Valdez

Roger J. Kavigan

William Lee Crow Saddleback Valley Unified

3 seats open

Frank L. Ury

Tim Stone

Marcia L. Birch *

Norma E. Graves

Karen Irvine

Raghu P. Mathur *

Gardner K. Hussey

Debbie J. Hughes

Jolyon V. Druce

John P. Chihorek Tustin Unified

3 seats open

Todd M. Ferguson

Mark Sheridan

Sally Burrage

Carol McCauley

Merlin Henry *

Irene J. Dardashti

Douglass S. Davert

Gary L. Corlett Anaheim Union High

2 seats open

Kenneth Manuel Fisher

Robert Stewart

Richard Lutz *

Eric A. Lacayo

Lou Lopez *

Charles Hicks Jr.

Andrea Manes Naylor

La France Terrell

Hersh Cherson Fullerton Joint Union High

2 seats open

Joe Merlo *

William E. Dunton

Barbara R. Kilponen * Huntington Beach Union High

Full Term

2 seats open

Michael H. Simons *

James Ball

Bonnie J. Bruce

Leon E. McKinney

Short Term

Dirk Voss

Charles Wilkins Buena Park

Short Term

Robert W. Flewelling

Mark J. Bradley

Richard Lennon

Yssa M. Menzies Cypress

2 seats open

Steve Blount

Donna Erickson *

Donna L. McDougall * Fountain Valley

2 seats open

Reuben Goldsheft

Mark Goldhamer

Gaylyn Meyers

Catherine K. Hacker **

Julie Ann Hoxsie Fullerton

2 seats open

Rosamaria Gomez-Amaro

Jay Gray

Karen M. B. Chavez Huntington Beach City

2 seats open

Brian Rechsteiner

Catherine G. McGough

Michael Villeneuve Magnolia

2 seats open

Steve Staveley

Ruth W. Good *

Janel Hangartner

Barbara J. Clendineng * Ocean View

2 seats open

Nancy Stuever

Charles Osterlund

Carolyn Hunt *

Ian C. Harrison

Roger Harvey



Fred Hunter *

Tom Daly

City Council

2 seats open

Frank Feldhaus

Bill Fitzgerald

Edward S. Skinner

Fares Batarseh

Bob Zemel

Keith Olesen

Manuel T. Ontiveros

William D. Ehrle *

Frank E. Turner

Tom Daly *

Todd E. Kaudy

Phil Knypstra MEASURES

A--City Council Term Limits. Shall sanction 503.5 be added to the City Charter generally limiting consecutive years of service by members of City Council, including the mayor, to a combined total of two four-year terms?

B--Utility Revenue Transfer Limits. Shall Section 1221 of the City Charter which provides restrictions upon the City Council in establishing water and electrical utility rates be amended to provide that not more than 8% of the gross revenues earned by each utility during the preceding fiscal year may be paid into the general fund of the city during any fiscal year?

C--Closed Session Meetings. Technical Amendment. Shall sections 510 and 904 of the City Charter be amended to conform to the requirements of state law concerning the permissible grounds for holding closed-session meetings by the City Council and its boards and commissions?

Los Angeles Times Articles