YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


March 14, 1993|From Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS — Sophomore Amy Wickus of Wisconsin demonstrated she is one of the nation's rising track stars Saturday by winning the 800 meters and then helping her team win the 3,200 relay at the NCAA indoor championships.

Wickus sat back for the first 600 meters of the 800 before charging into the lead as the final lap began. The Big Ten champion, who finished fifth in last year's indoor championships, won in 2 minutes 4.80 seconds. Vicky Lynch of Alabama was second in 2:05.65.

"I've run against some of the people before and they run just like me," Wickus said. "I figured, 'Let them do the work and we'll finish it.' "

Despite her victory, and two by teammate Clare Eichner, in the mile and 3,000, Louisiana State won its fourth title since 1987 when it moved ahead of the Badgers by winning the 1,600 relay--the final event.

The Tigers finished with 49 points, followed by Wisconsin with 44 and defending champion Florida with 34.

Arizona's J.C. Broughton set the only meet record, high jumping 6 feet 3 1/2, breaking the mark of 6-3 1/4 set by Lisa Bernhagen of Stanford in 1987.

Eichner won the mile in 4:38.64, with Cheri Goddard of Villanova second in 4:40.01. About an hour after winning the mile, Eichner won the 3,000 in 9:09.68.

Holli Hyche of Indiana State, who won the 200 on Friday, finished first in the 55-meters in 6.76.

Arkansas extended its record streak of men's titles to 10 with the help of a first and third in the mile and Erick Walder's second consecutive sweep of the long jump and triple jump.

Arkansas scored 66 points, Clemson was second with 30 points and Tennessee took third with 25.

Walder, who won the long jump with an effort of 27-4 Friday, won the triple jump by going 55-5 3/4 in the fifth of the six rounds.

Ireland's Niall Bruton gave Arkansas its victory in the mile in 4:00.05, with defending champion Andy Keith of Providence second in 4:00.27 and Michael Morin of Arkansas third in 4.00.71.

Olympian Marko Koers of the Netherlands, who placed fourth as a freshman for Illinois last year, won the 800 in 1:48.39, with Jose Parrilla of Tennessee taking second in 1:49.75.

Baylor's Deon Minor, another defending champion, also had problems and pulled up early in his heat of the 400. Minor, who pulled his right hamstring in the Southwest Conference meet, aggravated the injury about 100 meters into the race.

Clemson's Wesley Russell won the 400 in 45.92, followed by Calvin Davis of Arkansas in 46.16.

Los Angeles Times Articles