YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Dykstra, Merino Chosen Times' Coaches of the Year

April 22, 1993

SOUTHEAST AREA — Eleanor Dykstra, who led Valley Christian of Cerritos to the CIF Southern Section Division IV-A basketball title, and Wayne Merino, who guided Artesia to its second consecutive state Division II crown, have been chosen The Times' Southeast high school coaches of the year.

Forwards Sherise Sandoz of Pius X in Downey and Charles O'Bannon of Artesia were selected area players of the year.

The awards were presented Sunday during a breakfast for the Southeast and South Coast boys' and girls' prep all-star basketball teams at the Sheraton Hotel in Long Beach.

It was the third time that Dykstra has won the award. Her teams have won six Southern Section titles.

Merino, who directed Artesia to three state titles in the past four years, also won the coaching award in 1990.

O'Bannon was also selected Southeast player of the year in 1992. It was the first award for Sandoz.

Ron Massey, who guided Jordan High of Long Beach to its second Southern Section Division I title in three years, was named South Coast boys coach of the year.

Ellis Barfield, rookie coach of state Division I champion Lynwood, was the girls coach of the year in the South Coast.

Guard Everett Ratleff of Jordan and forward Shanika Porter of Paramount were the South Coast boys and girls players of the year, respectively.

Junior forward Timicha Kirby of Lynwood, who was instrumental in the Knights' 31-0 season, was the winner of the Cheryl Miller Award, given by The Times to the top girls' basketball player of the year in Southern California.

O'Bannon finished second to Jacque Vaughn of Pasadena Muir High in judging for the George Yardley Award, presented by The Times to its choice as the best boys player in Southern California. O'Bannon, who won the Yardley Award last year, is expected to announce Friday which college he will attend.

Los Angeles Times Articles