YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Orange County Focus

COUNTYWIDE : 28 Win National Merit Scholarships

May 03, 1993|MIMI KO

Twenty-eight Orange County high school seniors this week won National Merit Scholarships.

Each student got $2,000 to help pay tuition at the college or university of his or her choice.

Henry S. York, a Servite High School student with a 4.0 grade point average, said he will use his money to attend Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, where he plans to study medicine.

"I'm honored and excited to receive this award," the Anaheim resident said. "My goal in life is to continue learning even when I'm old. I don't have to be the best in my field and win lots of awards and accolades--just be a nice person, someone good. But, of course, it's exciting when you do win an award."

Other winners of the scholarship from Anaheim are Brian G. O'Conner from Esperanza High School and Jennie C. Ou from Canyon High School.

For the Record
Los Angeles Times Wednesday May 5, 1993 Orange County Edition Metro Part B Page 2 Column 2 Metro Desk 1 inches; 27 words Type of Material: Correction
Scholarship--In a story Monday, Capistrano Valley High School senior Jeffrey P. Byers of Mission Viejo was left off the list of National Merit Scholarship winners getting $2,000 scholarships.

Other National Merit scholars include six students who attend Sunny Hills High School in Fullerton. They are: Emin Martinian of Buena Park and Elizabeth T. Bangs, Benson Chang, Elise S. Delong, Lara M. Kousharian and Doan A. Tran of Fullerton.

"It's an honor to receive this award because I know it's very difficult to get," said Tran, 18, who plans to attend Stanford University and study biology and chemistry.

The other scholarship recipients are: Gretchen Whitney High School students Julie H. Park of Buena Park, Andy Hong of Cypress and Christian Chen of Westminster; Kennedy High School's Gabriel V. Sfatcu of Cypress; Fountain Valley High School's Michael P. Muno; Edison High School's Brent A. Ridley of Huntington Beach; Huntington Beach High School's Karen Woo; Jason C. Chung from Irvine High School; Emily K. Hobson from Laguna Beach High School; Jeffrey A. Ferrell and Jay T. Sutaria from Laguna Hills High School; Malin Chaipat, of Laguna Niguel, from Dana Hills High School; Corona del Mar High School's Sheila N. Swaroop of Newport Beach; El Modena High School's Nick-Anthony Buford of Orange; El Dorado High School's Jonathan G. Hsiao of Placentia; Saint Margaret's Episcopal School's Robert J. Newell of San Juan Capistrano; Los Alamitos High School's Jessica J. Shin of Seal Beach; Leo A. Kim, of Tustin, from Irvine's Woodbridge High School; and Ocean View High School's Mindy Chang of Westminster.

The Orange County students are among 2,000 nationwide to receive the scholarships, funded by the Illinois-based National Merit Scholarship Corp., as well as more than 100 corporations, professional associations and company foundations.

The purpose of the program "is to honor academically talented students and encourage them to continue their education," said Elaine S. Detweiler, public information director for the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

Los Angeles Times Articles