YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Cromsigt's Stock Rises With 16th Saugus Win


Gerrit Cromsigt of Palmdale went about business as usual on a busy Saturday night at Saugus Speedway, driving to a 25-lap victory in the Street Stock oval main event and also drove to a 15-lap victory in the Street Stock figure-eight event before 3,659.

For Cromsigt, who is running away with the Street Stock points race, the victory was his 12th of the season to go with four victories in Pro Stock.

Cromsigt, who entered the evening third in Pro Stock points, is one main-event victory shy of the track's single-season record of 17, set by former Hobby Stock champion Larry Krieger of Reseda in 1988.

"I'd like to get the record," said Cromsigt, who started fifth in the grid and moved into the lead for good on the fourth lap.

"Larry Krieger is a friend of mine and it's his record. He told me not to get it."

Scott Dinger of Simi Valley won the 15-lap Pro Stock figure-eight main event and Cromsigt--bidding for his record-tying 17th win--left the race on the 10th lap.

Cromsigt climbed from his Street Stock into his Pro Stock for another 25-lap oval main event on a night in which six main events were scheduled.

Dinger recorded his division-high eighth main-event victory of the season after Cromsigt, who was in the second position, and Ed Horst of Reseda, in third, were involved in a spin while challenging for the lead with five laps left. Both drivers were moved to the rear.

Sean Monroe of Los Angeles went on to finish second and Brian Kelley of Arleta finished third.

In other races, Gerry Mielke of Torrance won the 20-lap Mini Stock main event ahead of Jeff McCall of Gardena. Robert Kluck of Huntington Beach finished third and Robert Hynes of West Hills took fourth.

Shaun Estes of Riverside won the 10-lap oval semi-main event for Street Stocks to lead four drivers who advanced to the main event. Kelley, David Ford of West Hills and Mike Gilmore of Van Nuys also advanced.

Heat race winners included Earl Dorman of Saugus and Monroe (Pro Stock), and Kelley, Randy Goldsmith of Cerritos and Kirk Miller of Alta Loma (Street Stock oval).

Julianne Seeley of Canyon Country won the Street Stock figure-eight heat race.

Mielke and Ray Maxon of Castaic won Mini Stock heat races.

Joe Benson of Glendale won the Pro Four Modified heat race.

Dinger won both the oval and figure-eight trophy dashes for Pro Stocks.

Other trophy dash winners included Cromsigt (Street Stock oval), Todd Conrod of Sierra Madre (Street Stock figure-eight), Brad Billings of South El Monte (Mini Stock) and Mal Borders of Van Nuys (Pro Four Modified).

Los Angeles Times Articles