YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Works, Kazmer Share Award

March 08, 1994

Sara Works of Cypress and LeAnn Kazmer of Orange Coast were selected co-most valuable players by the Orange Empire Conference women's coaches.

Kazmer, a sophomore forward, won the conference scoring title, averaging 20 points. Works, a freshman forward, averaged 19.3. Kazmer also led in rebounding (10.8).

Dave and Dick Stricklin of Golden West were co-coaches of the year. The Stricklins led the Rustlers to their fifth consecutive conference title.

The rest of the first team: Kristin Brun and Michelle Kravik of Golden West, Yolanda Hearvey of Cypress, Jocelyn Mackzum of Fullerton, America Robledo of Orange Coast, Tanja Tilli of Rancho Santiago, Virginia Vaioletama and Audrey McMurry of Riverside and Carrie Burt of Saddleback.


Riverside's Raimonds Miglinieks was selected player of the year by the Orange Empire Conference men's basketball coaches.

Miglinieks, a sophomore guard, averaged 16 points and a conference-best 12 assists for Riverside, which won the conference title by a game over Saddleback.

Riverside's Bob Schermerhorn was coach of the year.

The rest of the first team: Kevin Carlson and Tamar Ross of Fullerton, Sean Amos and Matt Kordik of Rancho Santiago, Antoine Jefferson and Tes Whitlock of Saddleback, Jim Falletta of Cypress, Gerald Rhoden of Golden West, Tom Airey of Irvine Valley, Damion Morbley of Orange Coast and Darryle Flicking of Riverside.

Morbley is the only freshman on the first team. Miglinieks, Flicking and Jefferson made the first team for the second consecutive season.

Flicking led the conference in scoring with an average of 29.4 points.

Los Angeles Times Articles