YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


March 16, 1994

Purdue's Glenn Robinson, the nation's leading scorer, was a unanimous selection Tuesday to The Associated Press All-America basketball team, and California's Jason Kidd was named on all but one ballot.

They were joined on the first team by Donyell Marshall of Connecticut and Grant Hill of Duke, both three votes shy of unanimous, and Clifford Rozier of Louisville.

Robinson, a 6-foot-8 junior forward, averaged 30.3 points and 10.1 rebounds and shot 49%, including 36% from three-point range.

"This is a very deserving honor for Glenn because of all the players I ever coached, he's the best," Purdue Coach Gene Keady said. "This guy can do it all and he's a great person besides."

Robinson, who was a second-team All-American last season and passed up an opportunity to jump to he NBA, came back to lead the Boilermakers to the Big Ten title. He is Purdue's first first-team, All-American since Joe Barry Carroll in 1980.

Kidd, a sophomore who led the nation in assists at 9.1 per game and averaged 16.8 points, was Cal's first first-team All-American since Darrell Imhoff in 1960, and Marshall, a 6-9 junior forward who averaged 25.8 points a game, was UConn's first first-team selection ever.

Hill, the only senior on the team, is Duke's third consecutive first-team selection, joining Christian Laettner and Bobby Hurley with that designation.

Hill averaged 17.3 points, 6.5 rebounds and 5.1 assists, playing guard or forward.

"He's been incredibly consistent," Duke Coach Mike Krzyzewski said. "I think he's helped us become a balanced team in not trying to take too many shots and making sure he was available to do the dirty work and not just shooting the basketball. He's really as good of a team guy as we've had here."

Rozier, who transferred to Louisville after playing as a freshman at North Carolina in 1991, is the first Cardinal first-team selection since Darrell Griffith in 1980.

Rozier averaged 19.1 points and 11.2 rebounds for the Cardinals.

The second team includes Jalen Rose of Michigan, Corliss Williamson of Arkansas, Khalid Reeves of Arizona, Eric Montross of North Carolina and Melvin Booker of Missouri.

The third team had Bryant Reeves of Oklahoma State, Lemond Murray of Cal, B.J. Tyler of Texas, Juwan Howard of Michigan and Damon Bailey of Indiana.


Saint Louis Coach Charlie Spoonhour was selected as college coach of the year by the U.S. Basketball Writers Assn.

Los Angeles Times Articles