Advertisement
YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

OC HIGH / STUDENT NEWS AND VIEWS : Getting There: The License

July 29, 1994|JOSLIN GEMSCH

Before legally driving in California, several steps must be taken.

The first is to enroll in a driver's education program. Thirty hours of classroom education on traffic laws and road signs is required for those under 18. The classroom program costs around $69, according to K-1 Driving & Traffic School of El Toro and San Juan Capistrano.

The next step is to get a driving permit, which requires passing a written test on traffic laws and road signs. There is a $10 application fee that gives you three attempts to pass the permit test within a year. A driving permit allows a student to practice driving an automobile with a licensed California driver who is at least 25 years old.

Six hours of behind-the-wheel training with a certified instructor are also required for minors. Driver's training classes cost about $135, according to K-1 Driving & Traffic School.

Now it's time for the behind-the-wheel driving test given by the DMV. It includes more turns, parking and, for the first time, freeway driving. Proof of birth date and insurance and a car in good working order are required for the test.

All California drivers are required to be insured. Typical liability coverage for a 16-year-old male, who is not the primary driver of a 1990 Honda Civic driven in Orange County, would cost on average $1,000 to $1,250 per year. A female the same age and driving under the same conditions would be charged about $1,000 yearly, according to Solo Insurance of Lake Forest. Drivers under age 25 are considered a risk and have higher insurance rates. Some may receive good student discounts of 5% to 10% off their policies if a grade-point average of 3.0 is maintained. School verification of grades is necessary.

After all that is completed, the only step that remains is getting that first car.

Advertisement
Los Angeles Times Articles
|
|
|