YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

NAACP Bestows Annual Theater Awards : Stage: 'Twilight,' 'Superstar,' 'Vanities' are top winners with four trophies each. 'Five Guys' takes home three.


"Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992," "Jesus Christ Superstar" and "Vanities" tied for most honors in the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP's seventh annual theater awards, held Monday at the Radisson Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel.

"Twilight," produced by the Center Theatre Group at the Mark Taper Forum, and "Jesus Christ Superstar" took four awards each in the larger Equity theaters category; "Vanities" took four in the Local Theatre category, made up primarily of smaller theaters covered under Equity's 99-seat plan. "Five Guys Named Moe," part of the CTG/Ahmanson season at the Doolittle Theatre, garnered three awards.

The awards salute performances by African Americans and recognize individuals and production companies that have made significant contributions to African American theater in Southern California.

The winners: Equity

* Play: "Twilight"

* Playwright: Anna Deavere Smith, "Twilight"

* Director: Emily Mann, "Twilight"

* Performance/Male: Carl Anderson, "Jesus Christ Superstar"

* Performance/Female: Anna Deavere Smith, "Twilight"

* Supporting Performance/Male: Kevyn Brackett, "Five Guys Named Moe"

For the Record
Los Angeles Times Thursday November 17, 1994 Home Edition Calendar Part F Page 2 Column 4 Entertainment Desk 1 inches; 29 words Type of Material: Correction
Achievement award-- Glynn Turman received the Beverly Hills/Hollywood NAACP's seventh annual Theater Awards' special award for Lifetime Achievement; incorrect information ran in Tuesday's Calendar.

* Costume Design: David Paulin, "Jesus Christ Superstar"

* Set Design: Bill Stabile, "Jesus Christ Superstar"

* Lighting Design: Rick Belzer, "Jesus Christ Superstar"

* Choreography: Charles Augins, "Five Guys Named Moe"

* Musical Direction: Reginald Royal, "Five Guys Named Moe"

99-Seat Plan and Other Local Theaters:

* Play: "Some of My Best Friends," Bobby Mardis, Sinclair C. Jones, In Black World Productions

* Playwright: Michael Ajakwe Jr., "Company Policy"

* Director: Kim Fields, "Vanities"

* Performance/Male: Ron Glass, "The Speed of Darkness"

* Performance/Female: T'Keyah Crystal Keymah, "Some of My Best Friends"

* Supporting Performance/Male: Leslie A. Jones, "Washington Square Moves"

* Supporting Performance/Female: Teresa Truesdale, "Vanities"

* Costume Design: Fontella Boone, "Vanities"

* Set Design: Keven Lock, "The Speed of Darkness"

* Lighting Design: Tom Spalding, "A Little Meditation, The Musical"

* Choreography: Wendy Robinson and Diann McCannon, "Vanities"

* Musical Direction: Buddy Mix

Special Show:

* Play: "Camp Logan," Mike Kaliski and Celeste Bedford Walker, Mountaintop Productions

Special Awards:

* Lifetime Achievement Award: Glynn Turan

* President's Award: Dick Anthony Williams

* Trailblazer: Eugene Bolande, Inner City Cultural Center

* Community Service Award: Dr. Beverly J. Robinson, UCLA Theater Dept.

Los Angeles Times Articles