YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

'General Hospital' Leads the Field in Daytime Emmys : Television: CBS takes most awards, and several long-running serials make strong showings.


"General Hospital" was named best soap opera and picked up four other honors to lead the field at the 22nd annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

The long-running ABC serial also won Emmys for writing, costume design, supporting actress (Rena Sofer) and younger actor (Jonathan Jackson).

Three programs wound up with four awards each: the ABC soap opera "All My Children," the CBS soap "Guiding Light" and PBS' beloved "Sesame Street," whose honors included best children's series.

For the second year in a row, Oprah Winfrey won two Emmys: for having daytime's best talk show and for being the best talk-show host. It was the fifth year in a row she has captured the latter honor.

"This is so sweet," Winfrey said Friday night at the ceremonies in New York, which were broadcast nationally by NBC. "It's truly a blessing to have this reward for doing something that I so love every day."

For the Record
Los Angeles Times Tuesday May 23, 1995 Home Edition Calendar Part F Page 5 Entertainment Desk 2 inches; 36 words Type of Material: Correction
Wrong photo-- Monday's Calendar inadvertently ran a misidentified photo. Michael Zaslow of CBS' "The Guiding Light," who won last year's Daytime Emmy Award for lead actor, drama series, was shown instead of Justin Deas of the same series, who won this year.

ABC won the most Emmys Friday night, but counting the awards handed out earlier in non-televised ceremonies, CBS--the daytime ratings leader--came away with the most, 15. ABC followed with 12, syndicated programs with 11, PBS with 9, HBO and NBC with 3 apiece, the Disney Channel with 2 and Fox, Nickelodeon and E! Entertainment with 1 each.

The top acting honors on the daytime dramas went to Justin Deas of "Guiding Light" and Erika Slezak of ABC's "One Life to Live." Deas won last year as best supporting actor. Among the other nominees that Slezak beat was Susan Lucci, the "All My Children" star who now has lost the best actress competition 15 times without a win.

Shari Lewis was named best performer in a children's series (PBS' "Lamb Chop's Play-Along") for the fourth straight year, and Bob Barker picked up his ninth Emmy as best game show host for CBS' "The Price Is Right."

The awards, covering the period between Feb. 6, 1994, and Feb. 5, 1995, were handed out by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Here is a complete list of Daytime Emmy winners, including those awarded in the non-televised ceremonies May 13:

Drama series: "General Hospital," ABC.

Game/audience participation show: "Jeopardy," Syndication.

Children's series: "Nick News," Nickelodeon.

Children's special: "A Child Betrayed: The Calvin Mire Story," HBO.

Animated children's program: "Where on Earth Is Carmen Sandiego?," Fox.

Talk show: "The Oprah Winfrey Show," Syn.

Lead actress, drama series: Erika Slezak (as Victoria Lord Carpenter), "One Life to Live," ABC.

Lead actor, drama series: Justin Deas (as Buzz Cooper), "Guiding Light," CBS.

Supporting actress, drama series: Rena Sofer (as Lois Cerullo), "General Hospital," ABC.

Supporting actor, drama series: Jerry Ver Dorn (as Ross Marler), "Guiding Light," CBS.

Younger actress, drama series: Sarah Michelle Gellar (as Kendall Hart), "All My Children," ABC.

Younger actor, drama series: Jonathan Jackson (as Lucky Spencer), "General Hospital," ABC.

Performer, children's series: Shari Lewis, "Lamb Chop's Play Along," PBS.

Talk-show host: Oprah Winfrey, "The Oprah Winfrey Show," Syn.

Directing, drama series: Christopher Goutman, Henry Kaplan, Conal O'Brien, James A. Baffico, Barbara Martin Simmons, Shirley Simmons, Robin Maizes, Sybil Costello, "All My Children," ABC.

Writing, drama series: Claire Labine, Matthew Labine, Eleanor Mancusi, Ralph Ellis, Meg Bennett, Michele Val Jean, Lewis Arlt, Stephanie Braxton, Karen Harris, Judith Pinsker, "General Hospital," ABC.

Lifetime achievement: Ted and Betty Corday.

Preschool children's series: "Sesame Street," PBS.

Service show: "Martha Stewart Living Television," Syn.

Special class program: "Talk Soup," E!

Performer in a children's special: Hal Linden, "CBS Schoolbreak Special: The Writing on the Wall," CBS.

Performer in an animated program: Lily Tomlin, "The Magic School Bus," PBS.

Game show host: Bob Barker, "The Price Is Right," CBS.

Service show host: Martha Stewart, "Martha Stewart Living Television," Syn.

Directing, game/audience participation show: Kevin McCarthy, "Jeopardy!," Syn.

Directing, talk show: Bryan Russo, "Donahue," Syn.

Directing, service show: Russell Morash, "This Old House," PBS.

Directing, children's series: Ted May, Jon Stone, Lisa Simon, Emily Squires, "Sesame Street," PBS.

Directing, children's special: Juan Jose Campanella, "A Child Betrayed: The Calvin Mire Story," HBO.

Directing, special class: Charles Jarrott, "A Promise Kept: The Oksana Baiul Story," CBS.

Writing, children's series: Norman Stiles, Lou Berger, Molly Boylan, Sara Compton, Christine Ferraro, Judy Freudberg, Tony Geiss, Ian Ellis James, Emily P. Kingsley, David Korr, Sonia Manzano, Joey Mazzarino, Jeff Moss, Adam Rudman, Nancy Sans, Luis Santeiro, Josh Selig, Jon Stone, Cathi R. Turow, Belinda Ward, John Weidman, Mo Willems, "Sesame Street," PBS.

Writing, children's special: Bruce Harmon, "A Child Betrayed: The Calvin Mire Story," HBO.

Writing, special class: Bob Carruthers, "Dinosaurs: Myths & Reality," Disney.

Los Angeles Times Articles