YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


The Nominees

February 14, 1996

Picture: "Apollo 13," Brian Grazer, producer; "Babe," George Miller, Doug Mitchell and Bill Miller, producers; "Braveheart," Mel Gibson, Alan Ladd Jr. and Bruce Davey, producers; "The Postman (Il Postino)," Mario and Vittorio Cecchi Gori and Gaetano Daniele, producers; "Sense and Sensibility," Lindsay Doran, producer.

* Actor: Nicolas Cage, "Leaving Las Vegas"; Richard Dreyfuss, "Mr. Holland's Opus"; Anthony Hopkins, "Nixon"; Sean Penn, "Dead Man Walking"; Massimo Troisi, "The Postman (Il Postino)."

* Actress: Susan Sarandon, "Dead Man Walking"; Elisabeth Shue, "Leaving Las Vegas"; Sharon Stone, "Casino"; Meryl Streep, "The Bridges of Madison County"; Emma Thompson, "Sense and Sensibility."

* Supporting Actor: James Cromwell, "Babe"; Ed Harris, "Apollo 13"; Brad Pitt, "12 Monkeys"; Tim Roth, "Rob Roy"; Kevin Spacey, "The Usual Suspects."

* Supporting Actress: Joan Allen, "Nixon"; Kathleen Quinlan, "Apollo 13"; Mira Sorvino, "Mighty Aphrodite"; Mare Winningham, "Georgia"; Kate Winslet, "Sense and Sensibility."

* Director: Chris Noonan, "Babe"; Mel Gibson, "Braveheart"; Tim Robbins, "Dead Man Walking"; Mike Figgis, "Leaving Las Vegas"; Michael Radford, "The Postman (Il Postino)."

* Original Screenplay: Randall Wallace, "Braveheart"; Woody Allen, "Mighty Aphrodite"; Stephen J. Rivele, Christopher Wilkinson and Oliver Stone, "Nixon"; Joss Whedon, Andrew Stanton, Joel Cohen and Alec Sokolow, story by John Lasseter, Peter Docter, Andrew Stanton and Joe Ranft, "Toy Story"; Christopher McQuarrie, "The Usual Suspects."

* Adapted Screenplay: William Broyles Jr. and Al Reinert, "Apollo 13"; George Miller and Chris Noonan, "Babe"; Mike Figgis, "Leaving Las Vegas"; Anna Pavignano, Michael Radford, Furio Scarpelli, Giacomo Scarpelli and Massimo Troisi, "The Postman (Il Postino)"; Emma Thompson, "Sense and Sensibility."

* Foreign Film: "All Things Fair," Sweden; "Antonia's Line," the Netherlands; "Dust of Life," Algeria; "O Quatrilho," Brazil; "The Star Maker," Italy.

* Art Direction: Michael Corenblith (art direction) and Merideth Boswell (set decoration), "Apollo 13"; Roger Ford (art direction) and Kerrie Brown (art direction), "Babe"; Bo Welch (art direction) and Cheryl Carasik (set decoration), "A Little Princess"; Eugenio Zanetti (art direction), "Restoration"; Tony Burrough (art direction), "Richard III."

* Cinematography: Stephen Goldblatt, "Batman Forever"; John Toll, "Braveheart"; Emmanuel Lubezki, "A Little Princess"; Michael Coulter, "Sense and Sensibility"; Lu Yue, "Shanghai Triad."

* Costume Design: Charles Knode, "Braveheart"; James Acheson, "Restoration"; Shuna Harwood, "Richard III"; Jenny Beavan and John Bright, "Sense and Sensibility"; Julie Weiss, "12 Monkeys."

* Documentary Feature: "Anne Frank Remembered," Jon Blair; "The Battle Over 'Citizen Kane,' " Thomas Lennon and Michael Epstein; "Fiddlefest," Allan Miller and Walter Scheuer; "Hank Aaron: Chasing the Dream," Mike Tollin; "Troublesome Creek: A Midwestern" Jeanne Jordan and Steven Ascher.

* Documentary Short Subject: "Jim Dine: A Self-Portrait on the Walls," Nancy Dine and Richard Stilwell; "The Living Sea," Greg MacGillivray and Alec Lorimore; "Never Give Up: The 20th Century Odyssey of Herbert Zipper," Terry Sanders and Freida Lee Mock; "One Survivor Remembers," Kary Antholis; "The Shadow of Hate," Charles Guggenheim.

* Film Editing: Mike Hill and Dan Hanley, "Apollo 13"; Marcus D'Arcy, "Babe"; Steven Rosenblum, "Braveheart"; Chris Lebenson, "Crimson Tide"; William Hoy, "Seven."

* Makeup: Peter Frampton, Paul Pattison and Lois Burwell, "Braveheart"; Ken Diaz and Mark Sanchez, "My Family, Mi Familia"; Greg Cannom, Bob Laden and Colleen Callaghan, "Roommates."

* Music (Original score): Marc Shaiman, "The American President"; Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz, "Pocahontas"; John Williams, "Sabrina"; Randy Newman, "Toy Story"; Thomas Newman, "Unstrung Heroes."

* Music (Original dramatic score): James Horner, "Apollo 13"; James Horner, "Braveheart"; John Williams, "Nixon"; Luis Bacalov, "The Postman (Il Postino)"; Patrick Doyle, "Sense and Sensibility."

* Original song: "Colors of the Wind" from "Pocahontas," Alan Menken and Stephen Schwartz; "Dead Man Walking" from "Dead Man Walking," Bruce Springsteen; "Have You Ever Really Loved a Woman" from "Don Juan DeMarco," Michael Kamen, Bryan Adams and Robert John Lange; "Moonlight" from "Sabrina," John Williams and Alan and Marilyn Bergman; "You've Got a Friend" from "Toy Story," Randy Newman.

* Animated Short Film: "The Chicken From Outerspace," John R. Dilworth; "A Close Shave," Nick Park; "The End," Chris Landreth and Robin Bargar; "Gargarin," Alexij Kharitidi; "Runaway Brain," Chris Bailey.

* Live Action Short Film: "Brooms," Luke Cresswell and Steve McNicholas; "Duke of Groove," Griffin Dunne and Thom Colwell; "Lieberman in Love," Christine Lahti and Jana Sue Memel; "Little Surprises," Jeff Goldblum and Tikki Goldberg; "Tuesday Morning Ride," Dianne Houston and Joy Ryan.

Los Angeles Times Articles