YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


CSUN Women Land 6-7 Center From Israel

March 21, 1996

Suzie Gyarfas, a 6-foot-7 center playing club basketball in Israel, said Wednesday she will come to the United States to play for Cal State Northridge.

Gyarfas, 23, speaking by telephone from her home near Tel Aviv, said she was directed to Northridge by a player in Israel who played for Matador women's Coach Michael Abraham.

Abraham, who is not allowed to comment on recruits until the school receives a signed letter of intent, hinted since his hiring that he would be recruiting worldwide.


Andi Boswell, a sophomore forward at Antelope Valley College, has signed to play at Missouri Valley College, an NAIA Division II school.

Boswell averaged 14.3 points last season, second in the Foothill Conference.


Stan Stewart, associate head coach at San Jose State, said he is interested in the Cal State Northridge men's position.

Stewart, 40, has spent the past seven seasons at San Jose State. Before that he was at USC and UC Santa Barbara. Stewart previously assisted with the USC women's team.

Michael Abraham, the women's basketball coach, will head the six-member men's basketball coach search committee, the school announced.

Also on the committee are Dave Baldwin, football coach; Trenton Cross, a sophomore point guard; Brian Swanson, assistant athletic director in charge of external affairs; Susan Hall, graduate coordinator for the kinesiology department, and a member of the Athletic Assn. to be named.

Applications will be accepted through April 12.


Chatsworth senior guard Jodi Borenstein was named most valuable player of the North Valley League. Borenstein helped the Chancellors to the City Section 3-A title game for the second consecutive season.


Cal State Northridge will host a daytime clinics for girls in grades 1 through 8 and night clinics for high school players from April 1-5 at Matador Gym.

Information: 818-885-2075.


Twelve players from the region earned City Section all-academic honors.

San Fernando's Daniel Sandoval, an offensive lineman, had the highest grade-point average at 3.9.

Other players named to the offensive team include Birmingham receiver Khai Nguyen, Poly quarterback Travis McGivern, Monroe quarterback Aaron Arnold and Granada Hills running back Shawn Kang.

The defensive team included Birmingham linemen Stacy Black and Parsek Halburian, Chatsworth lineman Trquon Anderson, Reseda linebacker Bobby Carrara, Granada Hills defensive back Justin Darby, San Fernando defensive back Rahsaan Dean and Chatsworth punter D.J. Butler.


Crescenta Valley junior forward Stephanie Rigamat has been named girls' co-player of the year in the Pacific League.

Rigamat, the Falcons' all-time leader in goals with 68, set the season record with 39 in 1995-96. She shared the award with Corrine Roberge of Arcadia.

Marco Mesrobian of Hoover has been named boys' co-player of the year with Oliver Zlomislilc of Arcadia.

Buena High forward Kristina Quiroz has been chosen Channel League girls' player of the year.

The senior had 10 goals and 10 assists, and helped the Bulldogs to a Southern Section Division II semifinal berth.


Tony Reed, a former Antelope Valley College running back who went on to play at Colorado, is among seven people who will be inducted Saturday into the California Community College Football Coaches' Assn. Hall of Fame.

Reed, who holds 16 Antelope Valley records, helped the Marauders to the state title in 1974. He was drafted by Kansas City in 1977, the third running back selected that year, behind Ricky Bell and Tony Dorsett. He rushed for more than 1,000 yards in 1979.

The induction ceremony and luncheon will be at 1 p.m. at the Red Lion Inn in Glendale.


Lesley Coben of Harvard-Westlake has committed to Yale. She helped the Wolverines to Southern Section and state titles.

Harvard-Westlake swing hitter Rick Rauth has committed to UC Santa Barbara.

Rachel Behen, an All-Golden League selection from Littlerock High, has accepted a scholarship to Rocky Mountain College in Billings, Mont.


Contributing: Mike Bresnahan, Fernando Dominguez, Jeff Fletcher, Michael Lazarus, Bryan Rodgers, Tris Wykes.

Los Angeles Times Articles