YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

CBS and 'General Hospital' Win Big in Daytime Emmys

Television: 'Guiding Light' picks up six awards, Susan Lucci loses for the 16th time and Phil Donahue gets a lifetime achievement honor.


CBS' "Guiding Light" collected the most honors but it was ABC's "General Hospital" that was named best drama series at the 23rd annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

It was a repeat victory for "General Hospital"--and for many of the other winners in the ceremonies broadcast from New York City on CBS Wednesday night.

Erika Slezak, Shari Lewis, Bob Barker, "Sesame Street" and "The Oprah Winfrey Show" were among the winners from last year who were honored again by the New York-based National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences and the Los Angeles-based Academy of National Arts & Sciences.

Slezak, who plays Victoria Lord Carpenter on ABC's "One Life to Live," was named best actress in a drama series. Among those she beat was Susan Lucci of ABC's "All My Children," who has now lost 16 times without a win.

"Guiding Light" picked up six Emmys--for supporting actor Jerry Ver Dorn (who plays Ross Marler), younger actor Kevin Mambo (who plays Marcus Williams), makeup, music direction and composition, lighting direction and sound mixing.

CBS' "The Price Is Right" took home four Emmys, including those for best game show and best game show host, Barker. It was Barker's 10th Emmy.

Winfrey's syndicated series was named daytime's best talk show but, after a five-year run, she was beaten as best talk-show host by Montel Williams. Talk-show veteran Phil Donahue, who is ending his program after more than 28 years, received an Emmy for lifetime achievement.

CBS, the daytime ratings leader, also led the field in Emmys, collecting 12. PBS got eight, syndicated programs garnered seven and ABC picked up six. Two each went to NBC, WB, a joint CBS-syndication effort, the Disney Channel and Fox, and VH1 got one.

The awards, covering the period from Feb. 6, 1995, to Feb. 5, 1996, were handed out in two batches--the 16 presented on the air Wednesday and in 43 categories at non-televised ceremonies May 18.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Drama series: "General Hospital," ABC.

Game/audience participation show: "The Price Is Right," CBS.

Talk show: "The Oprah Winfrey Show," syndication.

Pre-school children's series: "Sesame Street," PBS.

Children's special: "CBS Schoolbreak Special: Stand Up," CBS.

Animated children's program: "Animaniacs," WB.

Children's series: "Reading Rainbow," PBS.

Service show: "In Julia's Kitchen With Master Chefs," PBS.

Special class program: "World AIDS Day Special," VH1.

Lead actress, drama series: Erika Slezak, "One Life to Live," ABC.

Lead actor, drama series: Charles Keating, "Another World," NBC.

Supporting actress, drama series: Anna Holbrook, "Another World," NBC.

Supporting actor, drama series: Jerry Ver Dorn, "Guiding Light," CBS.

Younger actress, drama series: Kimberly McCullough, "General Hospital," ABC.

Younger actor, drama series: Kevin Mambo, "Guiding Light," CBS.

Performer, children's series: Shari Lewis, "Lamb Chop's Play-Along," PBS.

Performer, children's special: Kate Burton, "ABC Afterschool Special: Notes for My Daughter," ABC.

Performer, animated program: Nathan Lane, "The Lion King's Timon and Pumbaa," CBS/syn.

Talk-show host: Montel Williams, "The Montel Williams Show," syn.

Game show host: Bob Barker, "The Price Is Right," CBS.

Service show host: Julia Child, "In Julia's Kitchen With Master Chefs," PBS.

Directing team, drama series: Heather Hill, Frank Pacelli, Mike Denney, Kathryn Foster, Betty Rothenberg, Sally McDonald, Dan Brumett, Robbin Masick Phillips, Randall Hill, Don Jacob, Bob Welsh, "The Young and the Restless," CBS.

Directing, game/audience participation show: Kevin McCarthy, "Jeopardy!," syn.; Paul Alter, "The Price Is Right," CBS.

Directing, talk show: Arthur Forrest, Paul Forrest, "Leeza," NBC.

Directing, service show: Russell Morash, "This Old House," PBS.

Directing, children's series: David Grossman, Gary Halvorson, Shelley R. Jensen, "Adventures in Wonderland," Disney.

Directing, children's special: John Watkin, Eamon Harrington, "ABC Afterschool Special: Positive--A Journey Into AIDS," ABC.

Directing, special class: Arthur Forrest, "Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade," NBC.

Writing team, drama series: Agnes Nixon, Lorraine Broderick, Megan McTavish, Hal Corley, Frederick Johnson, Gail Lawrence, Jeff Beldner, Karen L. Lewis, Elizabeth Smith, Michelle Patrick, Bettina F. Bradbury, Judith Donato, Kathleen Klein, Ralph Wakefield, Pete T. Rich, "All My Children," ABC.

Writing, children's series: Erren Gottlieb, Bill Nye, James McKenna, Scott Schaefer, Adam Gross, Seth Gross, "Bill Nye the Science Guy," syn.

Writing, children's special: D. Shone Kirkpatrick, "CBS Schoolbreak Special: Children Remember the Holocaust," CBS.

Writing, special class: Terrence McDonnell, Steven Dorfman, Kathy Easterling, Debbie Griffin, Frederik Pohl IV, Steve D. Tamerius, "Jeopardy!," syn.

Photography, single camera: Bruce Finn, "CBS Schoolbreak Special: My Indian Summer," CBS.

Los Angeles Times Articles