YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

Company Town

Who'll Attend Mogul Confab?

July 02, 1996

This is a preliminary list of corporate executives planning to attend this year's highly coveted Sun Valley Conference, where media moguls and other corporate bigwigs rub shoulders, ride the rapids and often wind up making the biggest of the big entertainment deals.

Allegheny & Western Energy Corp., John G. McMillian, chairman

Amelior Foundation, Raymond G. Chambers, chairman

America Online Inc., Steve Case, chairman and CEO

Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., Dwayne O. Andreas, chairman and CEO

Ascent Entertainment Group Inc., Charles Lyons, president and CEO

AT&T Corp., Alex J. Mandl, president and CEO

Autonation USA, Steve R. Berrard, president and CEO

Bell Atlantic Corp., Raymond W. Smith, chairman and CEO

Berkshire Hathaway Inc., Warren E. Buffett, chairman and CEO

BET Holdings Inc., Robert L. Johnson, chairman, president and CEO

BMG Entertainment, Michael Dornemann, chairman and CEO; Strauss Zelnick, president and CEO, BMG Entertainment

CANAL Plus, Pierre Lescure, president; Alex Berger, chief of staff

Castle Rock Entertainment, Alan F. Horn, chairman and CEO

Chase Securities Inc., James B. Lee Jr., senior executive VP

Chris-Craft Industries Inc., Herbert J. Siegel, chairman and CEO; William D. Siegel, senior VP, president and chief operating officer, BHC Communications Inc.

Classics Sports Network, Brian T. Bedol, CEO; Stephen D. Greenberg, president

Coca-Cola Co., M. Douglas Ivester, president and chief operating officer

Comcast Corp., Ralph J. Roberts, chairman; Brian L. Roberts, president

CUC International Inc., Walter A. Forbes, chairman and CEO

DreamWorks SKG, David Geffen; Jeffrey Katzenberg

Eastman Kodak Co., George M.C. Fisher, chairman, president and CEO

Electronic Arts Inc., Lawrence F. Probst III, chairman, president and CEO

Excalibur Technologies Corp., Patrick C. Condo, president and CEO

GSI Group, Howard G. Buffett, president of international operations

Imagine Entertainment, Brian Grazer, co-CEO, producer

Intel Corp., Andrew S. Grove, president and CEO; Avram C. Miller, VP and director of business development; Ronald J. Whittier, senior VP and general manager of content group

International Creative Management Inc., Jeffrey Berg, chairman and CEO

Island Records Inc., Christopher P. Blackwell, chairman and CEO

Jim Henson Productions Inc., Charles H. Rivkin, president and chief operating officer

Joseph E. Seagram & Sons Inc., Edgar Bronfman Jr., president and CEO; Frank J. Biondi Jr., chairman and CEO, MCA Inc.

Liberty Media Corp., Peter R. Barton, president and CEO

Loews Corp., Laurence A. Tisch, co-chairman and co-CEO

MacAndrews & Forbes Group Inc., Ronald O. Perelman, chairman

MAI, Clive Hollick, managing director

McDonald's Corp., Michael R. Quinlan, chairman and CEO

Meredith Corp., Jack D. Rehm, chairman and CEO

Microsoft Corp., Bill Gates, chairman and CEO; Nathan P. Myhrvold, group VP, applications and content group

Motion Picture Assn. of America Inc., Jack J. Valenti, president and CEO

Motorola Inc., Christopher B. Galvin, president and chief operating officer; James M. Phillips, corporate VP, multimedia group

NBC Inc., Tom Brokaw, anchor and managing editor, NBC Nightly News

News Corp., Rupert Murdoch, chairman and CEO; David F. DeVoe, chief financial officer; Peter Chernin, chairman and CEO, Fox Filmed Entertainment

Nike Inc., Phil Knight, chairman

Norwood Promotional Products Inc., Frank P. Krasovec, chairman and CEO

Omnipoint Corp., Douglas G. Smith, chairman, CEO and president; George F. Schmitt, executive VP

Orca Bay Capital Corp., Stanley B. McCammon; John E. McCaw Jr.

Partnership for a Drug Free America, James E. Burke, chairman

Paul Allen Group, Paul G. Allen, chairman

Premier, Robert O'Leary, chairman and CEO

Providence Journal Co., Stephen Hamblett, chairman and CEO

Rastar Productions Inc., Ray Stark, chairman

Reed Elsevier, Ian Irvine, chairman

Republic Industries Inc., H. Wayne Huizenga, chairman

Saban Entertainment, Haim Saban, chairman and CEO

Silver King Communications Inc., Barry Diller, chairman and CEO

Sony Corp. of America, Jeffrey F. Sagansky, executive VP

Suntrust Banks Inc., James B. Williams, chairman and CEO

Syratech Corp., Leonard Florence, chairman

Telesystem Ltd., Charles Sirois, chairman and CEO

Television Azteca, Ricardo B. Salinas Pliego, president

Ticketmaster Corp., Fredric D. Rosen, president and CEO

Time Warner Inc., Gerald M. Levin, chairman and CEO; Robert A. Daly, chairman and co-CEO, Warner Bros. Inc.; Terry S. Semel, chairman and co-CEO, Warner Bros. Inc.

Tribune Co., John W. Madigan, chairman, president and CEO

Turner Broadcasting System Inc., Scott M. Sassa, president, Turner Entertainment Group

US West Inc., Richard D. McCormick, chairman and CEO; Charles M. Lillis, president and CEO, US West Media Group; Pearre A. Williams, VP of corporate development, US West Media Group

United Asset Management Corp., Norton H. Reamer, president

Viacom Inc., Sumner M. Redstone, chairman; Jonathan L. Dolgen, chairman, Viacom Entertainment Group

Walt Disney Co., Michael D. Eisner, chairman and CEO; Thomas S. Murphy, retired chairman and CEO, Capital Cities/ABC Inc.; Michael S. Ovitz, president; Joe Roth, chairman, Walt Disney Motion Pictures Group

WMX Technologies Inc., Phillip B. Rooney, president and CEO

World Film Services Inc., John Heyman, chairman

Ziff Bros. Investments, Dirk Ziff, co-chairman

Los Angeles Times Articles