YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Facts And Figures

September 10, 1996

A Little History

Formed in 1974 as part of a major realignment, the Century League was reshaped over the next few years to include some of the top football programs in the eastern portion of the county. Five schools have been in the league since 1978, with Orange replacing Santa Ana in 1990.

The Century League was at its strongest in the late '70s and early '80s, winning six Southern Conference titles in nine seasons.

El Modena and Foothill squared off in two of those championship games, Foothill winning, 35-28, in overtime in 1981 and the Vanguards gaining revenge two years later, 10-7.

The following season, El Modena stunned highly favored Esperanza, 26-0, for its third section championship.

El Modena, a charter member, has won nine league titles, but parity has come to the Century League. Five schools have won or shared a championship in the last four seasons.

League champions

1974 El Modena

1975 El Modena

1976 Santa Ana Valley and Villa Park

1977 Santa Ana Valley

1978 El Modena

1979 Santa Ana

1980 El Modena

1981 Foothill

1982 El Modena and Foothill

1983 El Modena and Santa Ana

1984 Foothill

1985 Foothill

1986 Santa Ana

1987 Santa Ana

1988 Santa Ana

1989 Santa Ana and Villa Park

1990 El Modena

1991 El Modena, Orange and Villa Park

1992 El Modena and Orange

1993 Foothill

1994 Foothill

1995 Santa Ana Valley and Villa Park

Southern Section champions

1977 Villa Park (Southern Conference)

1978 El Modena (Southern Conference)

1981 Foothill (Southern Conference)

1983 El Modena (Southern Conference)

1984 El Modena (Southern Conference)

1985 Santa Ana (Southern Conference)

Los Angeles Times Articles