YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Facts And Figures

September 10, 1996

A Little History

Assembled in 1974 from former members of the Sunset, Orange, Freeway leagues, as well as the defunct Irvine League, the Empire League might not have started out with any fixed identity.

That all changed in 1981, when Esperanza moved over from the Orange League and began a rivalry with Los Alamitos that would last more than a decade and be carried over to another league.

Over the next 13 seasons, either the Aztecs or the Griffins won or shared the Empire League title 10 times. From 1990 to 1993, they won or shared four consecutive Southern Section titles.

The league's pinnacle might have come in 1992, when Los Alamitos and quarterback Tim Carey came up against Esperanza, led by defensive lineman Travis Kirschke, in the Division II championship game and tied, 14-14.

When Los Alamitos and Esperanza moved to join larger schools in the Sunset League in 1994, competition again returned to the Empire League.

League champions

1974 Foothill

1975 Foothill

1976 Los Alamitos

1977 Loara

1978 Cypress

1979 Loara

1980 Loara

1981 El Dorado and Pacifica

1982 Esperanza

1983 Pacifica

1984 Esperanza

1985 Los Alamitos and Pacifica

1986 Loara

1987 Los Alamitos

1988 Los Alamitos

1989 Los Alamitos

1990 Esperanza

1991 Esperanza

1992 Los Alamitos

1993 Los Alamitos

1994 Century and El Dorado

1995 Kennedy

Southern Section champions

1979 Loara (Southern Conference)

1990 Esperanza (Division III)

1991 Los Alamitos (Division III)

1992 Esperanza (Division II)

Los Alamitos (Division II)

1993 Los Alamitos (Division II)

Los Angeles Times Articles