YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Facts And Figures

September 10, 1996

A Little History

The Sea View League has been affected by every county realignment since its formation in 1978, yet it has developed into a perennial Southern Section power, winning titles in each of the last four years.

That streak includes:

Championships in 1992 and 1993 by Irvine, an original league member in its first two seasons back after eight years in the South Coast league.

A 1994 title for Newport Harbor, the first in the program's 64-year history.

A championship last year for El Toro, which won its first section title as a Sea View League member in 1982 before winning two more in the South Coast League.

The Sea View also is one of the most balanced leagues in the county. Seven schools have won or shared at least two league titles, but no school has won more than four.

League champions

1978 Corona del Mar and Costa Mesa

1979 Estancia

1980 Corona del Mar, El Toro and Estancia

1981 El Toro

1982 El Toro and Saddleback

1983 Newport Harbor

1984 Newport Harbor and Saddleback

1985 Newport Harbor and Saddleback

1986 Saddleback and Tustin

1987 Corona del Mar

1988 Corona del Mar

1989 Estancia

1990 Tustin

1991 Tustin

1992 Irvine

1993 Irvine

1994 Newport Harbor

1995 El Toro

Southern Section champions

1982 El Toro (Central Conference)

1985 Saddleback (Central Conference)

1988 Corona del Mar (Division VI)

1989 Corona del Mar (Division VI)

1992 Irvine (Division IV)

1993 Irvine (Division IV)

1994 Newport Harbor (Division V)

1995 El Toro (Division V)

Los Angeles Times Articles