YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

A Rosy Reception for Rosie at 24th Daytime Emmy Awards

Television: O'Donnell, in her first year, beats out Oprah as best host, though Winfrey retains best talk show.


Rosie O'Donnell captured a Daytime Emmy Award on her first try while Susan Lucci came up short on her 17th attempt.

Just three weeks shy of her first anniversary on the air, the star of "The Rosie O'Donnell Show" was named best talk-show host Wednesday night at the television industry's 24th annual salute to daytime's top programs and talent. She beat out Oprah Winfrey for the honor, but "The Oprah Winfrey Show" was named best talk show for the fourth year in a row.

Lucci, who hosted the Emmy telecast on ABC with Regis Philbin, failed again to win as best actress in a soap opera for her role as Erika Kane on ABC's "All My Children." The Emmy instead went to Jess Walton, who plays Jill Abbott on CBS' "The Young & the Restless."

Justin Deas of CBS' "Guiding Light" was selected as best actor in a daytime drama, and ABC's "General Hospital" won as best soap opera for the third straight year.

Counting the awards that were handed out last weekend in non-televised ceremonies, CBS wound up as the most honored network with 16 Daytime Emmys--seven of them for "The Young & the Restless." Syndicated programs accounted for 12, with PBS getting 10, ABC nine and NBC six. HBO and WB won three each, WB got two and Fox picked up one.

PBS shared in four others for the children's series "Bill Nye the Science Guy," which airs on the public network and in syndication. CBS similarly shared in two for the animated series "The Lion King's Timon & Pumbaa."

The Emmys, covering the period from Feb. 6, 1996, to Feb. 5, 1997, were handed out at Radio City Music Hall in New York City by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in cooperation with the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

O'Donnell cried as she accepted her award and talked of sitting in Radio City Music Hall as a child, watching the "Nutcracker Suite" with her mother and sister.

"I feel as though they have guided me in my life," she said.

Fred Rogers of PBS' long-running "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood" was a double winner this year, honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award and with an Emmy as best performer in a children's series.

Pat Sajak was chosen best game show host for "Wheel of Fortune," and Martha Stewart won as best service show host for her syndicated series, "Martha Stewart Living."


Here is a complete list of winners.

* Drama series: "General Hospital," ABC.

* Preschool children's series: "Sesame Street," PBS.

* Children's series: "Reading Rainbow," PBS.

* Children's special: "Elmo Saves Christmas," PBS.

* Children's animated program: "Animaniacs," WB.

* Animated program, special class: "Freakazoid," WB.

* Talk show: "The Oprah Winfrey Show," syn.

* Game/audience participation show: "The Price Is Right," CBS.

* Service show: "Baking With Julia," PBS.

* Special class program: "1996 Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade," NBC.

* Lead actress, drama series: Jess Walton (as Jill Abbott), "The Young & the Restless," CBS.

* Lead actor, drama series: Justin Deas (as Buzz Cooper), "Guiding Light," CBS.

* Supporting actress, drama series: Michelle Stafford (as Phyllis Romalotti), "The Young & the Restless," CBS.

* Supporting actor, drama series: Ian Buchanan (as James Warwick), "The Bold & the Beautiful," CBS.

* Younger actress, drama series: Sarah Brown (as Carly Roberts), "General Hospital," ABC.

* Younger actor, drama series: Kevin Mambo (as Marcus Williams), "Guiding Light," CBS.

* Game show host: Pat Sajak, "Wheel of Fortune," syn.

* Talk-show host: Rosie O'Donnell, "The Rosie O'Donnell Show," syn.

* Performer, children's series: Fred Rogers, "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood," PBS.

* Performer, children's special: Donna Murphy, "Lifestories: Families in Crisis--Someone Had to Be Benny," HBO.

* Performer, animated program: Louie Anderson, "Life With Louie," Fox.

* Service show host: Martha Stewart, "Martha Stewart Living," syn.

* Writing team, drama series: Agnes Nixon, Lorraine Broderick, Millee Taggart, Hal Corley, Frederick Johnson, Jeff Beldner, Christina Covino, Courtney Simon, Karen L. Lewis, Elizabeth Smith, Michelle Patrick, Bettina F. Bradbury, Judith Donato, Kathleen Klein, Jane Owen Murphy, "All My Children," ABC; William J. Bell Sr., Kay Alden, Jerry Birn, John F. Smith, Trent Jones, Eric Freiwald, Janice Ferri, Rex Best, Jim Houghton, Michael Minnis, "The Young & the Restless," CBS.

* Writing, children's series: Kit Boss, Erren Gottlieb, Michael Gross, James McKenna, Bill Nye, Ian Saunders, Scott Schaefer, Darrell Suto, William Sleeth, "Bill Nye the Science Guy," PBS/syn.

* Writing, children's special: Bruce Harmon, "Lifestories: Families in Crisis--Someone Had to Be Benny," HBO.

* Writing, special class: Terrence McDonnell, Steven Dorfman, Kathy Easterling, Debbie Griffin, Jeff Pierson, Frederik Pohl IV, Steve Tamerius, Billy Wisse, "Jeopardy!," syn.

Los Angeles Times Articles