YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


And the Winners of the Emmys Are . . .

September 15, 1997

Here are the winners announced Sunday in Pasadena at the 49th annual nighttime Emmy Awards for programs shown for the first time between June 1, 1996, and May 31, 1997. The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences handed out awards in other categories during non-televised ceremonies Sept. 7.

* Comedy series: "Frasier," NBC.

* Drama series: "Law & Order," NBC.

* Made-for-television movie: "Miss Evers' Boys," HBO.

* Miniseries: "Prime Suspect 5: Errors of Judgement," PBS.

* Variety, music or comedy series: "Tracey Takes On. . . ," HBO.

* Variety, music or comedy special: "Chris Rock: Bring the Pain," HBO.

* Actress, comedy series: Helen Hunt, "Mad About You," NBC.

* Actor, comedy series: John Lithgow, "3rd Rock From the Sun," NBC.

* Actress, drama series: Gillian Anderson, "The X-Files," Fox.

* Actor, drama series: Dennis Franz, "NYPD Blue," ABC.

* Actress, miniseries or special: Alfre Woodard, "Miss Evers' Boys," HBO.

* Actor, miniseries or special: Armand Assante, "Gotti," HBO.

* Individual performance, variety or music program: Bette Midler, "Bette Midler: Diva Las Vegas," HBO.

* Supporting actor, comedy series: Michael Richards, "Seinfeld," NBC.

* Supporting actress, comedy series: Kristen Johnston, "3rd Rock From the Sun," NBC.

* Supporting actress, drama series: Kim Delaney, "NYPD Blue," ABC.

* Supporting actor, drama series: Hector Elizondo, "Chicago Hope," CBS.

* Supporting actor, miniseries or special: Beau Bridges, "The Second Civil War," HBO.

* Supporting actress, miniseries or special: Diana Rigg, "Rebecca," PBS.

* Writing, comedy series: Ellen DeGeneres, Mark Driscoll, Dava Savel, Tracy Newman, Jonathan Stark, "Ellen," ABC.

* Writing, variety or music program: Chris Rock, "Chris Rock: Bring the Pain," HBO.

* Writing, miniseries or special: Horton Foote, "William Faulkner's Old Man," CBS.

* Writing, drama series: David Milch, Stephen Gaghan, Michael R. Perry, "NYPD Blue," ABC.

* Directing, comedy series: David Lee, "Frasier," NBC.

* Directing, variety or music program: Don Mischer, "Centennial Olympic Games: Opening Ceremonies," NBC.

* Directing, miniseries or special: Andrei Konchalovsky, "The Odyssey," NBC.

* Directing, drama series: Mark Tinker, "NYPD Blue," ABC.

* President's Award: "Miss Evers' Boys," HBO.

Los Angeles Times Articles