YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Cleveland Guards Can't Make Grade

December 02, 1998| From Staff Reports

Schquay Brignac and Arielle Thomas, sophomore guards at Cleveland High, have been declared academically ineligible, Coach KimBerly Kelly said.

Brignac led the Cavaliers with 14.8 points per game and 5.6 steals as a freshman last season.

Thomas was a part-time starter who averaged four points and 3.6 rebounds.

A toy drive for Staying Alive, an organization benefiting babies and children with AIDS or HIV, is being staged at the Buckley High girls' basketball tournament today through Friday at Buckley.

Admission to the tournament is $5 for adults, $3 for students and $1 for anyone 12 and under. Spectators bringing a toy, baby food, diapers or other children's goods will be admitted free.


The preliminary rounds of doubles play in the City Section individual tournament, at the L.A. Fitness-Warner Center Racquet Club in Woodland Hills, were postponed Tuesday by rain until noon Thursday at the same location.

First-round play for singles and doubles, originally slated for Thursday, has been rescheduled to noon Friday.


Running back Carl Richardson of Moorpark College has been selected player of the year in the Western State Conference Southern Division.

Richardson, a sophomore from Rio Mesa High, led Moorpark to the conference championship. Jim Bittner of Moorpark shared the division coach of the year award with Rob Hager of West Los Angeles.

In the Northern Division, Bill Norton of Pierce was chosen coach of the year. Matt Daniels of Hancock was selected division player of the year.

Joining Richardson on All-WSC Southern Division team were offensive lineman Ryan Wadkowski, running back Emory Holmes, defensive lineman Kevin Kos, linebacker Shawn Holiday and defensive back Russell Burwell, all from Moorpark.

Other selections include linebacker Mark Zimmerman, defensive back Donte Morgan, offensive linemen Mike Allen and Greg Hulett, tight end Scott Collins and kicker Fernando Arias, all from Valley.

All-WSC selections in the Northern Division include quarterback Kevin Carrasco, kicker Heloyt Cervantes, running back Tyler Otis, receiver Mark Hamilton and linebacker Sean Cogswell, all from Canyons.

Offensive lineman Chad Kahlsdorf, running back Travis Rogers, defensive lineman Torrance Heggie, linebacker Dewayne Jones, defensive back Marcus Hill and punter Paul Czerniak were selected from Ventura.

Glendale players making the squad were offensive lineman Adis Davtyan, defensive lineman Derek Lyons and defensive back Kyon Howard. Receiver Vaughn Corley was the only Pierce player selected.

Los Angeles Times Articles