YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Fargas, Brogdon McShea Honored

January 06, 1998|PAIGE A. LEECH

Justin Fargas of Notre Dame, Shane Brogdon of Moorpark and Rob McShea of Paraclete were selected high school football players of the year in their respective divisions, the Southern Section announced Monday.

Fargas, a senior who was selected Division III offensive player of the year, rushed for 2,816 yards and 35 touchdowns and led the region with 214 points.

Senior linebackers Brogdon and McShea earned defensive player of the year in divisions X and XI, respectively.

Moorpark's Ron Wilford, who guided his team to a 13-1 record and a section title, was chosen Division X coach of the year.

Paraclete's Steve Hagerty, whose team also finished 13-1 and won a championship, was the top coach in Division XI.

Fargas and receivers Jerry Owens of Hart, Jake Farrel of Newbury Park and Joey Cuppari of Westlake, plus linemen Matt Leonard of Palmdale and Karl Holley of Westlake were selected to the All-Southern Section team, a 34-member all-star squad comprised of players from all 12 of the section's divisions.

The team was picked by a vote of coaches.

Owens, a junior who caught 63 passes, averaged 22.6 yards per reception and scored 18 touchdowns.

Farrel had 75 catches for 1,202 yards and nine touchdowns.

Cuppari had 72 receptions for 1,248 yards and 21 touchdowns.

Leonard, 6 feet 4, 285 pounds, was the Golden League's lineman of the year.

Holley, a 6-3, 220-pound senior, recorded a school-record 17 sacks for Westlake.

Los Angeles Times Articles