YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections


Hornaday Wins for 25th Time

April 04, 1999

Ron Hornaday, defending NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion and former Saugus Speedaway track champion, captured his 25th victory in the series along with the biggest prize in series history Saturday in the NAPACard 200 at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Wash.

Hornaday was among four drivers in the 30-truck field eligible for a $100,000 bonus.

The former Palmdale resident led through most of the 200-lap race and finished 2.509 seconds ahead of Jack Sprague.

The race was stopped three times during the first 50 laps to dry the track and took more than four hours to complete.

Hornaday's $140,100 purse was more than $55,000 greater than the previous largest purse in the series.

Hornaday leads the series by 45 points over Stacy Compton.


Moorpark 2-4, Rio Mesa 1-2--Kim Wynigear singled home Kellie Konysky with the winning run for the Musketeers in the bottom of the eighth inning in the first game of a nonleague doubleheader at Moorpark.

In the top half of the inning, Wynigear made a running catch in right field and threw out Chrissy Hildebrandt at the plate to prevent the Spartans (5-8) from taking the lead.

Erin LaFata's three-run triple highlighted a four-run fourth inning for the Musketeers (6-5) in the second game.

Los Angeles Times Articles