YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections

HBO Leads Nighttime Emmy Pack With 16 Awards : Television Pay channel cited for 'Sopranos,' movies in ceremony aimed mainly at technical achievement.


Home Box Office collected the most honors at Saturday's nighttime Emmy Awards presentation in Pasadena, including multiple statuettes for dramatic series "The Sopranos" and its movies "The Rat Pack" and "Winchell."

Saturday's nontelevised event encompassed more than 50 categories, primarily in technical areas such as cinematography, editing and sound. An additional 27 awards, recognizing programs and performers, will be presented Sept. 12 and televised on Fox.

"King of the Hill" claimed one of the night's biggest prizes in the program categories, as the series was named outstanding animated program--a statuette taken home by its Fox sibling "The Simpsons" five of the last six years.

Two PBS productions--"The American Experience" and "American Masters"--shared honors as best nonfiction series, while the syndicated "The Teen Files: Truth About Drinking" was selected as outstanding children's program.

Among performers, Mel Brooks received a third consecutive Emmy as a guest star on NBC's "Mad About You," with Tracey Ullman topping the comedy guest actress balloting for playing the title character's psychologist on "Ally McBeal." On the drama side, Edward Herrmann won for ABC's "The Practice," with Debra Monk--playing the ex-wife of Det. Andy Sipowicz--earning an Emmy for her guest work on "NYPD Blue."

Winning Emmys has become a marketing tool for HBO, but the pay channel's leading 16-Emmy total was padded a bit by the four awards given "Animated Epics: The Canterbury Tales" in a single category, special achievement in animation. That number was matched only by the quartet showered on NBC's big-budget version of "Alice in Wonderland" for music, costume design, makeup and visual effects.

NBC amassed 11 awards in all, with ABC tallying seven while CBS and Fox claimed a half-dozen each. HBO clearly led the cable charge, with A&E receiving four Emmys and no other cable network getting more than one.

Here is the complete list of the creative arts Emmy Award winners announced Saturday night by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. They cover programs aired between June 1, 1998, and May 31, 1999.

* Classical music-dance program: "Itzhak Perlman: Fiddling for the Future," PBS.

* Children's program: "The Teen Files: The Truth About Drinking," syn.

* Nonfiction special: "Thug Life in D.C.," HBO.

* Nonfiction series: "The American Experience," PBS; "American Masters," PBS.

* Animated program (one hour or less): "King of the Hill," Fox.

* Animated program (one hour or more): "Todd McFarlane's Spawn," HBO.

* Commercial: " Friend," Gartner.

* Guest actor, comedy series: Mel Brooks, "Mad About You," NBC.

* Guest actor, drama series: Edward Herrmann, "The Practice," ABC.

* Guest actress, comedy series: Tracey Ullman, "Ally McBeal," Fox.

* Guest actress, drama series: Debra Monk, "NYPD Blue," ABC.

* Voiceover performance: JaNet DuBois, "The PJs," Fox.

* Art direction, series: Thomas A. Walsh, Kim Hix, Leslie Frankenheimer, "Buddy Faro," CBS.

* Art direction, miniseries or movie: Hilda Stark Manos, Kathleen M. McKernin, Linda Spheeris, "The Rat Pack," HBO.

* Art direction, variety or music program: Ray Christopher, Steve Olson, "The 71st Annual Academy Awards," ABC.

* Casting, series: Georgianne Walken, Sheila Jaffe, "The Sopranos," HBO.

* Casting, miniseries or movie: Juel Bestrop, "Winchell," HBO.

* Choreography: Judith Jamison, "Dance in America: A Hymn for Alvin Ailey," PBS; Marguerite Derricks, "Goodwill Games Opening Celebration," TBS.

* Cinematography, series: Robert Primes, "Felicity," WB.

* Cinematography, miniseries or movie: Robbie Greenberg, "Winchell," HBO.

* Costuming, series: Paul Dafelmair, "JAG," CBS.

* Costume design, series: Melina Root, "That '70s Show," Fox.

* Costume design, miniseries or movie: Charles Knode, "Alice in Wonderland," NBC.

* Costume design, variety or music program: Jef Billings, "The Snowden Raggedy Ann and Andy Holiday Show," CBS.

* Single-camera picture editing, series: Joanna Cappuccilli, "The Sopranos," HBO.

* Single-camera picture editing, miniseries or movie: Keith Palmer, "Horatio Hornblower," A&E.

* Multi-camera picture editing, series: Janet Ashikaga, "Sports Night," ABC.

* Multi-camera picture editing, miniseries, movie or special: Michael Polito, Randy Magalski, Barbara S. Ballow, Mark Muheim, Joe Wiedenmayer, "The Kennedy Center Honors," CBS.

* Hairstyling, series: Audrey Futterman-Stern, "Tracy Takes On . . .," HBO.

* Hairstyling, miniseries, movie or special: Judy Crown, "Houdini," TNT.

* Lighting direction (electronic), comedy series: Donald A. Morgan, "Home Improvement," ABC.

* Lighting direction (electronic), drama series, variety series, miniseries, movie or special: Robert Dickinson, Robert T. Barnhart, Andy O'Reilly, Matt Ford, "71st Annual Academy Awards," ABC.

* Main title design: Yarrow Cheney, Carrie Buell, "Dilbert," UPN.

Los Angeles Times Articles