YOU ARE HERE: LAT HomeCollections
(Page 6 of 7)

The 41st Annual Grammy Nominations

Academy's Complete List of Nominees

January 06, 1999

* Best Historical Album: "The Complete Hank Williams," Colin Escott and Kira Florita, producers; "Have a Nice Decade: The '70s Pop Culture Box," Bill Inglot, David McLees and Gordon Skeene, producers; "The Jazz Singers: A Smithsonian Collection of Jazz Vocals From 1919 to 1994," Robert G. O'Meally and Bruce Talbot, producers; "New York Philharmonic: the Historic Broadcasts 1923 to 1987," Sedgwick Clark, producer; "The Pet Sounds Sessions," David Leaf, Mark Linett and Brian Wilson, producers;


* Best Engineered Album, Nonclassical: "Breath of Heaven," Al Schmitt, (Vince Gill, artist); "Contact From the Underworld of Redboy," Howie B., Andy Bradfield, Jamie Cerniglia, Marius de Vries, Chris Fogel, Tim Gordine, Troy Matthews, Pat McCarthy, Dane Ngahuka, Randall Prescott, Carmen Rizzo, Tim Stroh and Jim Wilson (Robbie Robertson, artist); "Firecracker," Bob Clearmountain and Juan Patino (Lisa Loeb, artist); "The Globe Sessions," Tchad Blake, Trina Shoemaker and Andy Wallace (Sheryl Crow, artist); "The Nu Nation Project," Gerald Baillergeau, Chris Bell, Kevin Bond, Bassy Bob Brockman, Mick Guzauski, Fred Hammond, Ray Hammond, Tim Kimsey, Victor "Vinno" Merritt and Mark Williams (Kirk Franklin, artist).

* Producer of the Year, Nonclassical: Michael Beinhorn; Tchad Blake; Rob Cavallo; Sheryl Crow; Lauryn Hill.

* Remixer of the Year, Nonclassical: Steve "Silk" Hurley; Frankie Knuckles; Masters at Work; David Morales; Roger Sanchez.

Best Engineered Album: Barber: "Prayers of Kierkegaard"/Vaughan Williams: "Dona Nobis Pacem"/Bartok: "Cantata Profana," Jack Renner (Robert Shaw, conductor); Bartok: "Bluebeard's Castle," Jobst Eberhardt and Stephan Flock, (Pierre Boulez, conductor); Symphony No. 9, Keith O. Johnson (Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, conductor); Mahler: Symphony No. 3, Richard King, (Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor); Monteverdi: "Vespers of 1610," Jack Renner, (Martin Pearlman, conductor).

* Producer of the Year, Classical: Manfred Eicher; Steven Epstein; James Mallinson; Andreas Neubronner; Robina G. Young.


* Best Album: Barber: "Prayers of Kierkegaard"/Vaughan Williams, "Dona Nobis Pacem"/Bartok, "Cantata Profana," Robert Shaw, conductor; James Mallinson, producer (Richard Clement, tenor; Nathan Gunn, baritone; Carmen Pelton, soprano, Atlanta Symphony and Chorus); Bartok: "Bluebeard's Castle," Pierre Boulez, conductor; Jessye Norman; Laszlo Polgar; Karl-August Naegler, producer (Nicholas Simon, Chicago Symphony); "The Beautiful Voice," Renee Fleming, soprano; Jeffrey Tate, conductor; Michael Haas, producer (English Chamber Orchestra); Schnittke: Complete String Quartets, Kronos Quartet, Judith Sherman, producer; "Sir Georg Solti--The Last Recording," Georg Solti, conductor; Tamas Bubno, Kalman Strausz, Gabriella Thesz, chorus masters; Chris Hazell, producer (Alexandru Agache, baritone; Tamas Daroczy, tenor; Budapest Festival Chorus, Chorus and Children's Chorus of Hungarian Radio and TV, Schola Cantorum Budapestiensis, Budapest Festival Orchestra).

* Best Orchestral Performance: Brahms: Four Symphonies/"Haydn" Variations/"Tragic" Overture, etc., Nikolaus Harnoncourt, conductor (Berlin Philharmonic); Henze: "Undine," Oliver Knussen, conductor (Peter Donohoe, piano, London Sinfonietta); Holst: "The Planets," Yoel Levi, conductor (Women of the Atlanta Symphony Chorus, Atlanta Symphony); Ives: "Three Places in New England," Orchestral Set No. 2/Ruggles: "Sun-Treader Men and Mountains," Christoph von Dohnanyi, conductor (Cleveland Orchestra); Mahler: Symphony No. 9, Pierre Boulez, conductor (Chicago Symphony); Varese: The Complete Works, Riccardo Chailly, conductor (Asko Ensemble and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra).

* Best Opera Recording: Bartok: "Bluebeard's Castle," Pierre Boulez, conductor; Jessye Norman; Laszlo Polgar; Karl-August Naegler, producer (Nicholas Simon, Chicago Symphony); Piazzolla, "Maria de Buenos Aires," Gidon Kremer, conductor and violin; Horacio Ferrer; Jairo; Julia Zenko; Helmut Muhle, producer (Kremerata Musica; Coral Lirico Buenos Aires); Prokofiev: "Betrothal in a Monastery," Valery Gergiev, conductor; Sergei Alexashkin; Larissa Diadkova; Nikolai Gassiev; Stan Taal; producer (various artists, Kirov Opera Chorus and Orchestra); Rameau, "Les Fe^tes d'Hebe," William Christie, conductor; Paul Agnew; Sarah Connolly; Sophie Daneman; Thierry Felix; Jean-Paul Fouchecourt; Jean-Pierre Loisil, producer (Les Arts Florissants Chorus and Orchestra); Tchaikovsky, "Mazeppa," Valery Gergiev, conductor; Sergei Alexashkin; Larissa Diadkova; Nikolai Putilin; Stan Taal, producer (Kirov Opera Chorus and Orchestra).

Los Angeles Times Articles